Gap in conduit to main power

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-27-20, 08:48 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 403
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Gap in conduit to main power

I noticed a gap in the conduit to the main power. Is this a concern that needs to be resolved?


 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-28-20, 02:20 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 83 Votes on 71 Posts
Yes, looks like the locknut came off exposing the conductors to the sharp edge of the box. It needs to be fixed. Did the ground settle in front of the meter?
 
  #3  
Old 07-28-20, 04:47 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,744
Received 66 Votes on 62 Posts
Hi, looks like you need to contact the Power Co. that definitely should be repaired, there should have been an expansion joint installed there to prevent that from happening.
Geo
 
CasualJoe voted this post useful.
  #4  
Old 07-29-20, 06:46 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,638
Received 83 Votes on 73 Posts
Rather than contacting the power company, I would recommend you contact a licensed electrical contractor to fix this by installing an expansion joint. The contractor will contact and coordinate with the power company, that's why you hire a contractor.
 
  #5  
Old 07-29-20, 09:33 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 403
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There's doesn't appear to be any significant settlement to justify the gap. I can contact an electrician but was unclear who's responsibility this lies with.
 
  #6  
Old 07-29-20, 09:44 AM
L
Member
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 175
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Unless its a very new home, I suspect the repair is on your dime. The power company would have just run its lines through the existing conduit installed by the electrician who apparently failed to attach a lock nut. If you know who the electrician was you can ask if they will come back to make the repair as a goodwill jesture. As was stated, the sharp edge of the box may be in contact with the high voltage lines and the power company will have to come out to remove its lock to allow work in the meter base.

There just seems to be too much risk for a homeowner to attempt a repair.
 
  #7  
Old 07-29-20, 03:02 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,595
Received 200 Votes on 178 Posts
Based that SE cable is coming out of the right KO this would fall onto the power company's responsibility unless there is another meter or disconnect someplace on the property. I would be surprised that a locknut/bushing would back its way all the way off the connector and suspect that somebody "forgot" to install it properly. (Note: typically when we install a service we do not install the pipe for the PoCo guys but do leave them the pipe, locknut, and bushing and knock out the hole for them.)

I would recommend contacting the PoCo for the repair. They will have to cut the seal on the meter socket and replace it anyway.
 
  #8  
Old 07-30-20, 09:44 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,638
Received 83 Votes on 73 Posts
(Note: typically when we install a service we do not install the pipe for the PoCo guys but do leave them the pipe, locknut, and bushing and knock out the hole for them.)
It might be that way in Minnesota, I couldn't say, but areas I am familiar with this conduit is installed by the electrical contractor whether it's just a conduit stub for direct burial cable or a full length of conduit to the pole. In the OP's case, we don't know whether this is just a conduit stub or a conduit all the way to the pole.
 
PJmax voted this post useful.
  #9  
Old 07-31-20, 09:15 AM
L
Member
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 175
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Hard to see why the power company has not taken notice of this either on monthly meter readings or when the smart meter was installed.
You might want to approach them on a liability avoidance basis if they will not just send a serviceman out to do the job.
If this conduit has a 90 degree bend its hard to see how it could have sunk without any sinking of the surrounding ground. It may just be a short piece that will slide back up the conductors.
 
  #10  
Old 07-31-20, 02:53 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 43
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
As said earlier,pcboss, ,it looks like locknut came off inside an it slid down --since the threads are showing
Open it an see. .If it's on their side send them the pics .If its on yours turn ALL power off ,confirm,an put locknut back on or if it needs more done get an electritian..


 
  #11  
Old 07-31-20, 04:51 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 175
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
That would require breaking the power company seal and to keep things straight (not be accused of stealing electricity), the homeowner would need to have the company involved at some level. This is a classic example of "no user servieable parts."
 
  #12  
Old 08-01-20, 01:16 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,638
Received 83 Votes on 73 Posts
That would require breaking the power company seal
No, breaking the power company lock in this case and you never want to do that.
 
  #13  
Old 08-01-20, 03:39 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,595
Received 200 Votes on 178 Posts
Yes, the only way to fix this is to cut the seal. Call the power company.
 
  #14  
Old 08-01-20, 03:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,501
Received 1,029 Votes on 955 Posts
We knew most of the linemen for our local poco. Most electricians have a working relationship with the poco. That seal could be cut by a licensed electrician but then he needs to take responsibility as now that has become an emergency repair.

I forgot this was my neighbor.
He'll probably have Public Service and they require a special tool for their meter locks.
 
  #15  
Old 08-04-20, 08:49 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 403
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Orange Rockland came today during the Tropical Storm to put a temp fix and will be back to clean it up in a few days. I felt bad they came out with 60MPH winds and rain but I did tell the operator it wasn't necessary today. I had to push a bit but for $500-600 month for electricity, they can fix it for me as a courtesy
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: