Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Recommendations for what type of connector to wire in the garage for generator?

Recommendations for what type of connector to wire in the garage for generator?


  #1  
Old 08-14-20, 07:15 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: US
Posts: 562
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Recommendations for what type of connector to wire in the garage for generator?

I have a Husky 5000 watt portable generator. It has an L14-20 receptacle on it.

I ran 4/10AWG from the garage to the breaker panel / adding an interlock to the breaker panel.

In the garage, I figured I might get a larger generator. at some point (with an L14-30R) so I bought a

Reliance PB30 box, https://www.amazon.com/Reliance-Cont...7456544&sr=8-1

10' L14-30R to L14-30P extension cord

and for now, an L14-30R to L14-20P adapter.

Waiting for those to arrive from Home depot, amazon, etc.

Today I was at Costco and they have the Firman T07571 generator. Cute design - it can run on gasoline, LP and natural gas. On gasoline, it says it does 9400 Starting Watts / 7500 Running Watts.

It has the L14-30R and also a 14-50R (not locking receptacle).


Any thoughts on:

1) Why the 50amp is not a twist lock? Seems to make sense to be sure it stays connected?

2) More importantly, to try to future proof things, would you use 14-50 connectors on the wall box and extension cable? Then get / make a 14-50R to L14-20P adapter for the current generator?

Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 08-14-20, 09:47 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: us
Posts: 1,120
Received 54 Votes on 52 Posts
A gasoline generator at 10,000 watts, when run on natural gas will put out 8,000 watts, 20% less.
On propane it will be 10,000 watts.

Thinks the start - run watts is BS. Yes, some generators state can can handle a higher electric motor starting load but would not bank on it. Electric motors usually draw when starting 3 to 4 at start times run current.

Twist locks have their place, especially for cables out in the yard or field.
 
babaganoosh voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 08-15-20, 06:57 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,570
Received 143 Votes on 116 Posts
Since the gen is 7500W it's not going to support that 50A outlet for supplying that much amperage as backup to a house. I venture to guess it's a convenience outlet for use with a welder since it's not twistlock. You sure it's not a 6-50R?
 
babaganoosh voted this post useful.
  #4  
Old 08-15-20, 08:18 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: US
Posts: 562
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes! After posting this and looking more at the info ./ manual....

https://www.firmanpowerequipment.com/shop/t07571/

https://www.firmanpowerequipment.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/T07571manual.pdf


The 14-50 uses a 31 amp breaker? the L14-30 uses a 30 amp? page 6 of the manual says the 4-50:

A maximum of 31.25 Amps current for 240 Volts or two independent 120 Volt loads at 31.25 Amps current each.

and the L14-30:

A maximum of 30 Amps current for 240 Volts or two independent 120 Volt loads at 30 Amps current each.

that make sense? 7500 watts divided by 120? = 62.5 amps. But a 6000 watt generator also has a 30 amp breaker on each 120v circuit? So are you really getting any more current out with a 7,500 watt generator vs 6000? through the L14-30? I guess you aren't getting all 30 amps the connector can handle with a 6000 generator.

Either way, I think I am good / not limiting myself by using L14-30 connectors in the garage. seems even this 7.500 generator will work with the L14-30 / I only get 2 more amps out if I changed everything to the 14-50.



using


 
  #5  
Old 08-15-20, 09:27 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: us
Posts: 1,120
Received 54 Votes on 52 Posts
7,500 watts at 240 VAC is 31.25 across both legs. They are in series not parallel and not additive.

Generators manufacture's size their breaker to protect it.

House panel breakers are usually sized to limit current to rating of wire to it. While on long wire runs, higher amp capacity wire may be used, a small current breaker can be used to protect generator.

“I only get 2 more amps out if I changed everything to the 14-50.” Look at wire/connector size as reducing loss, not increasing capacity.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: