Wiring attached shed from existing outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-31-20, 12:16 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring attached shed from existing outlet

Iím building a lean-to shed attached to the house, and want to wire a light switch and receptacle (GFCI of course) into the shed from an exterior outlet on the same wall. I realize the wiring has to be run thru waterproof conduit, such as PVC or EMT. Is a box (LB or other) required on the shed to run the wiring inside?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-31-20, 09:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,659
Received 1,168 Votes on 1,083 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Typically you'd use UF which is outdoor rated NM cable.
You could use PVC conduit but that may be hard to attach to your existing receptacle.


 
  #3  
Old 09-01-20, 05:09 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,477
Received 110 Votes on 87 Posts
It maybe possible to add a weatherproof box extension with conduit holes to the existing outside outlet to where you can run PVC conduit to a LB on the shed for the wire to enter the shed. Use UF cable amp size to match the exiting circuit amps and use 3/4" PVC conduit for the outside run. It will be a pain getting the UF through the conduit but it can be done. Once in the shed use a junction box and switch to regular NM-b.
 
  #4  
Old 09-02-20, 06:31 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,864
Received 78 Votes on 73 Posts
Hi , post some pics so we can see what you have there.
Geo🇺🇸
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: