Grounding security equipment

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-19-20, 10:53 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,799
Received 73 Votes on 69 Posts
Grounding security equipment

Hi All, seems this should be a violation, we have a Select Engineering Systems gate access system and they have it grounded to ground rod instead of a ground wire in the conduit with the supply conductors, this system is about 2 1/2 years old , the original system had many problems with the MB , we are trying to figure out what the common issue is.
Geo🇺🇸
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-19-20, 11:00 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,079
Received 1,110 Votes on 1,030 Posts
If the controller is hooked up to 120v power then it should be getting ground from that.
BUT.... most gate operator manufacturers illustrate connecting the operator to a ground rod.
This is probably due to lightning in remote areas.
I don't recall seeing operators connected to a ground rod at the commercial accounts I've worked at.

Just to clarify..... a ground rod is acceptable but cannot replace the ground from the power source.
 
  #3  
Old 09-25-20, 11:24 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Southern Arizona
Posts: 149
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
A remote ground rod at your gate is called supplemental grounding. This is part of the code that a lot of people get wrong.
The ground needs to come from the service panel, where the breaker feeding the gate is located.
A ground rod at your gate provides a second path, through the earth back to the panel. This is not a acceptable situation.
Best book I can think of is Soars Book on grounding, Most libraries have a copy. You do not need a new version just one based on a code close to the one being used in your area. Soars takes section 250 of the NEC and explains it in simple words and LOTS of pictures.
I would recommend surge protection at the gate and at your home. Lighting has a habit of sneaking in by induction from long lines in the ground.
 
  #4  
Old 09-26-20, 08:02 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,460
Received 100 Votes on 80 Posts
As said ground rods are for diverting lightning strikes, not to bond the equipment. Bonding of the equipment is done by an equipment grounding conductor going back to the service.
 
  #5  
Old 09-26-20, 08:46 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,079
Received 1,110 Votes on 1,030 Posts
For what ever reason..... most gate operators request a ground rod.
 
  #6  
Old 09-26-20, 01:52 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,799
Received 73 Votes on 69 Posts
Thanks for the replies, I am trying to convince this property manager of the importance of grounding, one problem is the pipe from the panel to the controller is jammed packed, no room, been this way for years.

Geo🇺🇸
 

Last edited by Shadeladie; 10-02-20 at 07:51 AM.
  #7  
Old 09-26-20, 02:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,079
Received 1,110 Votes on 1,030 Posts
If the gate is wired in conduit..... that's the ground.
 
  #8  
Old 09-26-20, 03:48 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,460
Received 100 Votes on 80 Posts
The conduit can be the ground if the conduit is metal and is properly bonded. If it's PVC then no.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: