kitchen countertop outlet constraints

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-29-20, 07:50 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 98
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
kitchen countertop outlet constraints

Hi all and thanks in advance for your input! I'm drawing up a new kitchen for my place, and the main feature is a pretty large window above almost the entire main section of base cabinets (see sketch below). The bottom edge of the window will be pretty close to the top surface of the countertop, so there's not really going to be any room for electrical outlets. I'm thinking of using "pop up" outlets, but I've been unable to find clear guidance on whether or not the building code disallows outlets *in* a kitchen countertop. Any ideas???
Thanks again!

Here's an example of the kind of outlet that I'm looking at: pop-up outlet


 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-29-20, 07:56 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,567
Received 251 Votes on 221 Posts
As far as I know pop up receptacles are fine. Receptacles face up in the counter are not acceptable.
 
  #3  
Old 09-29-20, 08:01 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
Apparently they are allowed by code.
I would be worried about the drawers hitting them.
They need to be GFI protected.

The link below has some good information. One thing they did mention is to check with your local electrical inspector and make sure it's something they will ok. Code is one thing but the AHU can have a differing opinion.

Pop up requirements
 
  #4  
Old 09-30-20, 04:49 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 23,757
Received 632 Votes on 584 Posts
I would size your window so you at least have room to mount outlets horizontally on the wall. It is a kitchen. Some amount of consideration must be given to functionality even if it means the bottom of your window needs to be an inch or two higher.
 
Norm201 voted this post useful.
  #5  
Old 09-30-20, 05:08 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 9,027
Received 231 Votes on 206 Posts
I would agree with PD. Reduce your window size if need be or raise it up if you can. I can picture those pop-up outlets becoming a nuisance after awhile.
 
  #6  
Old 09-30-20, 05:11 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,567
Received 251 Votes on 221 Posts
Another option is what we call tombstones. They are permanently raised on the counter tops.
 
  #7  
Old 09-30-20, 05:25 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 9,027
Received 231 Votes on 206 Posts
I'm betting that would be housewife's nightmare.
 
  #8  
Old 09-30-20, 07:14 AM
2
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA near Boston, MA
Posts: 832
Received 47 Votes on 40 Posts
Consider using a surface mounted pre-wired raceway with outlets (Legrand/Wiremold) in the space above the counter below the window wired into a GFI outlet in the wall at either (or both) end(s) of the counter. Or if there is enough space above the cabinet doors/drawers mount raceway there below the counter lip.

Pre-wired raceway with outlets



PLug strip below countertop above doors.
 
  #9  
Old 09-30-20, 09:50 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,807
Received 73 Votes on 69 Posts
Hi, a multi circuit strip may work, it would cover the 2 SABC requirement for the kitchen, you would need a 2 pole 20 Amp GFCI breaker for the feed, raising the window would also work just keep in mind the thickness of the framing required for the window, boxes would need to mounted under the framing, one other thought is a switch for a disposal, if you have one, or you could possibly use an air switch for control I guess.

Geo🇺🇸
 

Last edited by Shadeladie; 10-02-20 at 07:56 AM.
  #10  
Old 09-30-20, 05:55 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,637
Received 209 Votes on 185 Posts
You could also install the Plugmold on the wall. You can also use single circuit Plugmold as long as to have at least two sections that are separate circuits.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: