14/2 off a 12/2 outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-15-20, 01:50 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
14/2 off a 12/2 outlet

I have a dedicated 20A circuit run with 12/2 to a 20A outlet that was going to be used for a washer, but we put the washer somewhere else instead, so the circuit isn't being used. Can I run 14/2 from the outlet to a 15A GFCI outlet, then from the GFCI to a switch that controls a ceiling light?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-15-20, 01:57 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,103
Received 81 Votes on 75 Posts
You still have to change the breaker to 15 amps.

Better yet, if that 20 amp circuit's dedicated receptacle is in the laundry area, leave it as-is unchanged with its 20 amp breaker. It still will satisfy the requirement of a laundry area circuit even if the washing machine is plugged in or used elsewhere. Run a brand new circuit or tap off of another branch circuit for the additional GFCI recepacle and light.
 
  #3  
Old 10-15-20, 02:25 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,560
Received 247 Votes on 217 Posts
You can't use 14/2 on a 20 amp circuit. You must use 12/2.
 
Norm201 voted this post useful.
  #4  
Old 10-15-20, 02:26 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,460
Received 100 Votes on 80 Posts
Just leave the circuit as 20A and run 12/2 to the gfci outlet and to the switch and light.
 
cartman voted this post useful.
  #5  
Old 10-15-20, 03:16 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank for the quick replies! The reason I want to run 14/2 is that I already have 14/2 running to the GFCI from a GFCI outlet in a bathroom upstairs. That setup caused the elec. inspector to fail me. The GFCI I want to power is in a finished room family room over a wet bar, and the only other source of power is the unused 20A outlet. The house is going on the market the 21st, and there's not time to repair drywall and do all the other things I need to do. The wiring from the upstairs bathroom GFCI and the 20A circuit both run through an unfinished closet next to the wet bar. The idea was to remove the 14/2 from the upstairs GFCI, cut it in the closet, and attach it to the 20A outlet. If that's not doable with a 20A circuit, how about if I replace the 20A circuit breaker with a 15A?
 
  #6  
Old 10-15-20, 04:18 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I just reread AllanJ's reply, so never mind about replacing the 20A breaker with a 15A.
 
  #7  
Old 10-15-20, 04:27 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,460
Received 100 Votes on 80 Posts
You can change the 20A circuit to 15A by using a 15A breaker as long as that circuit is not supplying outlets in a bathroom/laundry. Bathroom/laundry is to have 20A outlet circuit. If changing breaker to 15A make sure the circuit is clearly noted as 15A because of #14 wire in the circuit so someone seeing #12 wire in the panel will not switch back to a 20A breaker.
 
cartman voted this post useful.
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: