Sub panel

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-02-20, 04:39 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sub panel

I want to use a 200 amp main panel as a sub panel. I want to feed new panel with a 100 amp breaker. I have grounds and neutrals on the same grounding bar that are mounted directly to the panel. Will I have a bonding issues and can I land the new 100 amp wire on the new panel on the mail breaker?
 
  #2  
Old 11-02-20, 06:14 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,956
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
Hi, what is your main panel now?

Geo
 

Last edited by Shadeladie; 11-05-20 at 06:04 AM.
  #3  
Old 11-02-20, 06:37 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,719
Received 295 Votes on 254 Posts
In a sub panel the grounds and neutral will need to be separated.
The grounds go to the bar mounted to the panel chassis.
The neutrals go to the insulated neutral bar that came with the panel.
 
  #4  
Old 11-02-20, 08:42 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,513
Received 124 Votes on 98 Posts
Yes you can use the 200A main breaker as it is just a disconnect with the 100A feeding breaker protecting the feeder.
 
  #5  
Old 11-02-20, 09:12 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How about in the main panel the grounds and neutrals are on the same bar.
 
  #6  
Old 11-02-20, 10:02 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,719
Received 295 Votes on 254 Posts
In the 200 amp main panel the neutral and grounds should be bonded. Putting the neutral and grounds in the same bar is fine. Only one neutral per hole is permitted.
 
  #7  
Old 11-02-20, 12:48 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, thought I read on another thread where in the main panel that the grounds and neutrals had to be separated.
 
  #8  
Old 11-02-20, 01:08 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,719
Received 295 Votes on 254 Posts
The code says the first point of disconnect is only point where the grounds and neutrals are bonded. In most houses that is the main panel. However some places have a disconnect on a pole or at the meter. If that is the case the main panel inside the house is then considered a sub panel and grounds and neutrals must be separate.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: