Broken electrical conduit fitting on house meter

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-10-20, 01:05 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 125
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Broken electrical conduit fitting on house meter

Hey Team, anything I can do about this, short of a major repair. Thanks



 

Popular Reply

 
11-15-20, 01:11 PM
lambition
lambition is online now
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,558
Received 93 Votes on 81 Posts
they have to cut out my side walk
Are they proposing to run new cable all the way?

I don't see any reason to cut side walk.. Hardest and possibly most expensive part of the job is having power company cut power and reconnect.
Once the power is cut, it is fairly easy job. Just have to cut the conduit and glue new piece, ideally with expansion joint.


If that was my house, I'd just seal the gap with duct seal or caulk or maybe epoxy putty and wait until gap gets bigger. This fix may not be code compliant, but don't really see any immediate danger.
Often these underground services are direct buried without conduit and conduit is just there to protect above ground wire from damage.
 
  #2  
Old 11-10-20, 07:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,936
Received 1,351 Votes on 1,249 Posts
It's repairable but not by a homeowner. You'd need to have the PoCo disconnect power at the street. The wiring gets disconnected from the meter jaws. The pipe gets carefully cut with the wires inside. The broken male PVC connector gets removed.

That connector will be replaced with an expansion coupling like in the picture and made by Carlon.
This fitting telescopes up and down to account for pipe shrinkage and expansion.



By code.... a new lateral service would have this fitting from the start.
 
  #3  
Old 11-10-20, 07:21 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 125
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. Does the power company own this part do you think.
 
  #4  
Old 11-10-20, 08:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,936
Received 1,351 Votes on 1,249 Posts
No.... the power company is not responsible for that part of the service. That repair will be up to you.
 
  #5  
Old 11-11-20, 05:03 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,298
Received 110 Votes on 102 Posts
I do not think you need to do anything about that.
 
  #6  
Old 11-15-20, 12:10 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 125
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you. I got a bid. $1200 and also, they have to cut out my side walk on the side of the house. So, I won't be doing this now.
 
  #7  
Old 11-15-20, 12:24 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,936
Received 1,351 Votes on 1,249 Posts
Not quite sure what they are proposing to do but I'd call another electrician.
That fitting can be replaced with a minimal amount of work.
 
  #8  
Old 11-15-20, 01:04 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,734
Received 300 Votes on 257 Posts
Why would they need to dig up the sidewalk? I would call someone else.
 
  #9  
Old 11-15-20, 01:11 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,558
Received 93 Votes on 81 Posts
they have to cut out my side walk
Are they proposing to run new cable all the way?

I don't see any reason to cut side walk.. Hardest and possibly most expensive part of the job is having power company cut power and reconnect.
Once the power is cut, it is fairly easy job. Just have to cut the conduit and glue new piece, ideally with expansion joint.


If that was my house, I'd just seal the gap with duct seal or caulk or maybe epoxy putty and wait until gap gets bigger. This fix may not be code compliant, but don't really see any immediate danger.
Often these underground services are direct buried without conduit and conduit is just there to protect above ground wire from damage.
 
CasualJoe, Drangd, PJmax, Zorfdt voted this post useful.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: