Breaker Switch issue


  #1  
Old 11-16-20, 06:29 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 41
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Breaker Switch issue

Recently had a storm, lost power, shortly after a breaker switch tripped and part of the house was without power. I tried the switch but it would not stay on so I got two replacement parts that do the same thing they keep tripping. This switch controls some wall plugs and some overhead lights.

I am in rural area and there are no electricians in our community the nearest could be around 40 miles.

Your help and suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
 
  #2  
Old 11-16-20, 06:59 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,911
Received 51 Votes on 46 Posts
This switch controls some wall plugs and some overhead lights.
What was plugged into the receptacles on this circuit? The storm may have damaged an appliance and caused a short circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 11-16-20, 07:55 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 41
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unplugged everything before trying the new switch. Tried new switch with everything turned off on the panel and then turned on only the new switch same result.

Thank you for the help.
 
  #4  
Old 11-16-20, 08:10 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 11,151
Received 164 Votes on 147 Posts
Unplugged everything before trying the new switch.
New switch? Do you mean new circuit breaker? I'd like to know the exact sequence of events. In your first post it sounds as if the breaker tripped while you had no power.
 
  #5  
Old 11-16-20, 08:20 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,784
Received 68 Votes on 64 Posts
It would be good to know if water was a factor in the storm. Also, is this a GFCI breaker or is this breaker interrupting a large fault current?
 
  #6  
Old 11-16-20, 07:51 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 41
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
power back on

I made sure everything was unplugged as had been suggested. I did find one light still plugged in and I then reinstalled the breaker and it worked/ I am now taking my time plugging in each light to see if it affects the line so far no problems.

I will for now consider the problem solved.

Thank all of you for your help and suggestions. Especially Wirepuller38.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: