Loss of power to receptacles


  #1  
Old 11-19-20, 12:14 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Loss of power to receptacles

I was running near 15 amps on a 15 amp outlet. I think I overloaded and burned out the plug. There is no power to any of the outlets in the room.

My questions are do I need to replace the outlet? And if so does it matter which receptacle I buy. Will this ($1.10) Levition work in its place? The outlet that burned out was a "Legrand". Any help is appreciated.
 
  #2  
Old 11-19-20, 12:38 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,127
Received 1,561 Votes on 1,404 Posts
Outlets are pretty standard. I don't know what Leviton you are talking about but even inexpensive ones are generally OK.
 
cannabool voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 11-19-20, 01:06 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
replaced it and everythings working grand! Much thanks!
 
  #4  
Old 11-19-20, 01:51 PM
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 1,057
Received 62 Votes on 58 Posts
If you use that cheap $1.10 (Junk) outlet use the screws on the side and not the "QuickWire" (AKA backstab) connections. I buy the better Specification or Industrial grade with the "back-wire" terminals those are the best in my opinion the wire is inserted in the back and tightened against a pressure plate by the side screws.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: