Connections from main: help needed

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-19-20, 09:02 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 182
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Connections from main: help needed

Two receptacles in our living room are connected to the chandelier of our living room. So the receptacles do not work unless we turn on the lights.

I have checked that the main from lower level comes to the switch and from switch the wire goes to a junction box. This junction box connects the light as well as the receptacles

My goal is to connect the receptacles directly to the main.

Theoretically, I can cut the main, disconnect the wire from junction to receptacles, connect the two parts of main and the wire to receptacles in a new junction box.

But if I cut the main to switch , there is not enough wire to connect the two pieces of main and wire to receptacles. I am thinking I will probably need to install two junction boxes and use a short wire to extend the main ?

Any other easier solution ?

I am attaching a diagram that will show what is the current connection and what I am trying to do






 

Last edited by pcboss; 11-21-20 at 01:42 AM.
Sponsored Links

Popular Reply

 
11-19-20, 09:47 PM
joed
joed is offline
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,610
Received 266 Votes on 230 Posts
The correct term is receptacle. Technically a light is also an outlet in code terms.
 
  #2  
Old 11-19-20, 09:08 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,610
Received 266 Votes on 230 Posts
Change the wire from the switch to the junction to a 3 wire cable. Then you can have a switch and unswitched hot.
 
cartman voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 11-19-20, 09:39 PM
Andrew's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 1,015
Received 14 Votes on 10 Posts
What do you mean by "points"?
Thanks,
Andy
 
  #4  
Old 11-19-20, 09:44 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 182
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
"What do you mean by "points"?
Thanks,
Andy"

Outlet. Sorry -- should have used the correct term
 
  #5  
Old 11-19-20, 09:47 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,610
Received 266 Votes on 230 Posts
The correct term is receptacle. Technically a light is also an outlet in code terms.
 
AFJES, cartman voted this post useful.
  #6  
Old 11-19-20, 09:47 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 182
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Change the wire from the switch to the junction to a 3 wire cable. Then you can have a switch and unswitched hot.
I thought that, but accessing the switch is a PITA
 
  #7  
Old 11-19-20, 11:34 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,610
Received 266 Votes on 230 Posts
Then you will need two junction boxes and a short cable to get the proper amount of cable in junction boxes when you cut the main.
Cut the cable install each end into a junction box with the proper amount of cable. Then use a short cable to join the junction boxes.
 
  #8  
Old 11-21-20, 01:44 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,174
Received 92 Votes on 79 Posts
If you tell us the number and colors of the wiring in the switch box you might be able to make a change in a splice.
 
  #9  
Old 11-21-20, 04:17 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,665
Received 221 Votes on 195 Posts
Also, tell us if you have cable or conduit in the switch box. You might be able to just add a wire.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: