Main shut-off in subpanel


  #1  
Old 11-20-20, 03:16 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Main shut-off in subpanel

My subpanel did not come with a main breaker or even a main breaker spot. Is there any way to add a main breaker?
 
  #2  
Old 11-20-20, 04:30 PM
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 1,057
Received 62 Votes on 58 Posts
Depends of the internal layout of the buss bars a panel make & model would be helpful with this.
Sound like you bought a "MLO" (Main Lug Only) panels those are OK as sub panel use only as the protection device is upstream in the main breaker (or fuse) panel.
They are not suitable as service equipment (main panel) and a meter with a main breaker makes the inside panel technically a sub panel.
 
  #3  
Old 11-21-20, 12:32 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,389
Received 148 Votes on 131 Posts
A main breaker may not be required. Is this panel in the same building as the service?
 
CasualJoe voted this post useful.
  #4  
Old 11-24-20, 11:37 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 11,149
Received 164 Votes on 147 Posts
My subpanel did not come with a main breaker or even a main breaker spot. Is there any way to add a main breaker?
Obviously you bought a main lug panel and not a main breaker panel. Most manufacturers sell a main breaker kit that will replace the main lugs so check with the manufacturer to see if a main breaker kit is available. Another option may be to install a backfed breaker as a main breaker along with the required main breaker retaining kit.

Why didn't you just buy a main breaker panel?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: