Outlet controlled by 3-way switches

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-30-20, 07:19 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 55
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Outlet controlled by 3-way switches

I'm finishing my project of replacing old switches and outlets in our new house, and I have a wall outlet where the lower receptacle was controlled by two 2-way switches, so we can control a floor lamp by using either of the two switches. I thought I just moved one wire at a time, from the old outlet to the new one, but now the receptacle isn't linked to the 2-way switches... it will only turn on or off when I use the actual switch on the lamp. What did I do wrong here?



 

Popular Reply

 
11-30-20, 09:34 AM
joed
joed is offline
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,717
Received 294 Votes on 253 Posts
It looks like it was only HALF controlled by the switch. Cut the tab between the gold screws and the half will be controlled again.
 
  #2  
Old 11-30-20, 09:34 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,717
Received 294 Votes on 253 Posts
It looks like it was only HALF controlled by the switch. Cut the tab between the gold screws and the half will be controlled again.
 
2john02458, haytrain voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 12-02-20, 06:29 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 55
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That solved it, thank you!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: