Question on switching 20/40 breaker for 60 breaker

Old 12-01-20, 01:39 AM
S
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question on switching 20/40 breaker for 60 breaker

I have no knowledge of breakers or power I am just trying to figure out why my dryer will not work and I feel like it because of the breaker being switched. My dryer started tripping the breaker so we went to lowes and they didnt have a breaker like the original one which was 20/40 so we ask someone and they told us to use a 60 amp. This breaker runs my dryer and stove. Now a different dryer turns on but it is giving a error code of PS which has to do with power being to high/low. Could this be the problem or is this breaker ok? Thanks

Old 12-01-20, 03:16 AM
A
Received 162 Upvotes on 135 Posts
You can not just upsize a circuit breaker to solve an issue. This is extremely dangerous to do. It could cause a fire..

Breakers are rated according to the size of the conductors in the circuit.

The breaker is doing its job by tripping - it is telling you that there is an issue that needs to be tended to and corrected before going forward.

Give us a bit more detail. Don't use that circuit where you have replaced it with a 60 amp,
The person at Lowe's gave you incorrect advise.

shawnaalex voted this post useful.
Old 12-01-20, 04:56 AM
A
Upvotes: 0
Received 276 Upvotes on 252 Posts
You probably have a problem with the dryer, for example the heating element is shorted to other metal parts.

Does the dryer run for any length of time before the breaker trips?