Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Wiring help & NEC compliance with detached garage converted in-home child care.

Old 12-14-20, 02:34 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts

Greetings,

My girlfriend runs an in-home childcare operation. She has a large detached garage that I am converting into a space for her to continue doing so. The garage is 20'x30' and has a large attic space we may eventually use as well. No rush on that possibility in any way. I am fairly new to all things electrical, but have been doing my homework and feel confident I can tackle such a simple job. I am concerned with being NEC compliant and and probably will have some basic questions as this discussion unfolds. Thank you SO much for any help you provide. I am on a timeline to get her operational again, and I am at a stopping point with construction until I knock out electrical.

Here's some initial questions:

1) According to ye ole google:

"A significant change to the 2017 NEC that will affect new garage wiring is NEC 210.11(C)(4), this section requires the receptacles in a garage to be supplied by a 20 amp branch circuit by themselves, no other outlets. This change will require, at minimum, a multi- wire branch circuit to a new detached garage."

What I'm hearing here is that a detached garage needs a dedicated 20 amp branch circuit for the outlets alone. But does this apply now that I'm converting it into a heated space for childcare? If not... great. If so, it seems that I should run three (3) separate circuits from the house underground to the space:
-a 20amp one for all outlets
-a 20amp one for all lights
-and a 20amp one for potential use eventually in the attic for lights and outlets.