Service upgrade questions

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-29-20, 06:53 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Service upgrade questions

The code we are working with is State of VA 2015 code.
I am upgrading a 200 service to 400 amp service the meter base has dual lugs for 2 panels i have a few questions in regards to bonding and grounding I have never installed a a setup like this anyone on here know the VA code? Or can help id be willing to draw a diagram if anyone can help just want to make sure I'm looking at this code right and wire it right thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 12-29-20, 07:40 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,218
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
Is this 2 200s off of a 320 socket or one 400 amp panel?
 
  #3  
Old 12-29-20, 08:55 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Its a 240 volt 400 amp meter base with dual lugs I made a drawing how I think it should be wired but unsure full as the lug for the natural looks bonded in the meter base "i could be way off"

Meter base
 
  #4  
Old 12-29-20, 09:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
You are connecting two 200A panels to that meter socket. Both panels will require a 200A breaker.
The poco neutral goes to the large terminal. The two panel neutrals connect to the smaller lugs. That leaves one lug left for the ground rods. You will need two more lugs to connect the panel grounds. It looks like the neutral/ground bar is tapped for two more lugs.

 
  #5  
Old 12-30-20, 05:37 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,956
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
Hi, have you contacted the power co. to see what they require, is the building supplied with a copper water supply line?
Geo 🇺🇸
 
  #6  
Old 12-30-20, 07:52 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, but the power company only has standards from the pole to the meter base past that I have to use VA eletric code 2015. And home has pvc water lines not copper it also does not have a gas line for grounding. That's why I was thinking two rods 6ft apart
 
  #7  
Old 12-30-20, 12:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
Regardless of anything else..... you are required to use two ground rods.

from the pole to the meter base
This is going to be fed from an aerial service ?
Going to be pretty large..... and ugly.
 
  #8  
Old 12-30-20, 12:50 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No its underground 3" conduit all the way to the pole. Yea he wanted over head i told him it wasn't a good idea so underground it went the problem is where it needs to go everyone else's stuff runs right in the same place lots of hand digging 😒
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: