Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Can 3 dedicated 20 amp circuits share one 3 gang outlet box?

Can 3 dedicated 20 amp circuits share one 3 gang outlet box?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-02-21, 09:32 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 125
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can 3 dedicated 20 amp circuits share one 3 gang outlet box?

I need to run 3 dedicated 20 amp circuits to a new sauna from the breaker panel. Is it OK to use one 3 gang outlet box or I have to use each separate outlet box for each circuit? Thank you in advance for your help.
 

Popular Reply

 
01-02-21, 09:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
PJmax
PJmax is offline
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,936
Received 1,351 Votes on 1,249 Posts
You can have three circuits with three receptacles in a three gang box.
 
  #2  
Old 01-02-21, 09:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,936
Received 1,351 Votes on 1,249 Posts
You can have three circuits with three receptacles in a three gang box.
 
CasualJoe, mimimimi voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 01-02-21, 09:39 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 125
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you very much Pjmax for your quick reply!
 
  #4  
Old 01-03-21, 06:14 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,734
Received 300 Votes on 257 Posts
Not a problem.
Connect all the grounds together.
Keep all the neutrals separate.
 
CasualJoe, mimimimi voted this post useful.
  #5  
Old 01-03-21, 08:43 AM
2
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA near Boston, MA
Posts: 1,023
Received 71 Votes on 61 Posts
I think that having 2 legs of a 120/240 volt system in a single box (serving separate receptacles at 120-N) required a divider to prevent possible 240 volt exposure. Is that still the case?
 
  #6  
Old 01-03-21, 08:58 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,734
Received 300 Votes on 257 Posts
I have never heard of that rule. Only divider I have heard is if there is low voltage like phone or Ethernet in the same box.
 
2john02458, mimimimi voted this post useful.
  #7  
Old 01-03-21, 09:18 AM
2
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA near Boston, MA
Posts: 1,023
Received 71 Votes on 61 Posts
In a 2012 post on a woodworking forum about wiring a shop in Oklahoma I found this:

Even with MULTIPLE circuits, at 120V and 240V there's no NEC requirement to provide a separator in the box.
but...

I believe the inspector was asking for a barrier, which could be the case if you had more than one source. (two independant breakers).
My recollection probably came from wiring in New York City and may have been a local requirement.

 
mimimimi voted this post useful.
  #8  
Old 01-03-21, 10:30 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,808
Received 253 Votes on 221 Posts
The only time you need a barrier would be when you have wiring from two different electrical systems as you could find in a commercial building. These buildings have both 120/208v and 277/480v systems.
 
2john02458, mimimimi voted this post useful.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: