Schluter - Ditra Heat Wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-03-21, 05:19 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 239
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Schluter - Ditra Heat Wiring

Hey Gang

I hope this is the right section for this. I recently installed porcelain tile over my levelled, basement slab with a Ditra Heat system. The mat and cable installation went smoothly and it's time to wire it up.

I'm pretty comfortable working with electrical in general but I've never wired up a floor warming system so thought it might be a good idea to come by here and see if anyone notices any holes in the plan, or if there are any possible pitfalls I should be aware of.

Wiring the sensor and heating cables to the thermostat is a no-brainer.

It's a 220v system. The specs on the heating cable are:

Ditra Model: DHEHK240225
Voltage: 240/208
Amps: 11.9/10
Resistance: 20.8 ohms

Cables were tested before, during and after installation with less than a 2% variance in ohm readings.

Now to the the breaker panel.....

Despite being a 220v system it's 15 amp, two pole (which is a bit new to me) but those are the specs. The plan is to run 14-2 BX to the panel and wire it into a Siemens 15A 2-Pole 120/240V Type Q Breaker Model # Q215. Common ground at the panel and both wires as hot for 220/240V

Does that all sound about right?

One other question.... I have a bunch of 12-2 BX left over. I assume it won't be a problem to use it instead of buying more 14-2... But is anyone aware of any code where it's prohibited to use over-sized wire? I can't imagine why but I can't find anything in our Ontario electrical code that refers to this.

 
  #2  
Old 01-03-21, 05:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
Generic BX would not be appropriate but there are many variations.

Originally BX was steel with two copper wires and no ground.
Then a metal band was added for ground.
Then aluminum type cable called MC (metal clad) was introduced. It has a white, black and green copper wires in it. MC cable would be a correct choice.

Our current code requires that heating cable to be on a GFI circuit.
That means most likely you'll need a 2P15A GFI breaker in Canada.
 
  #3  
Old 01-03-21, 06:14 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 239
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Thanks. The BX I have available to me here is two (or three) copper shielded wire plus one unshielded ground wire. This is wrapped in a bare interlocked aluminum armour. I didn't even realize it is available without the copper ground wire.





The model of the two pole breaker I indicated is this one






 
  #4  
Old 01-03-21, 06:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
That's called MC or metal clad. The original BX had a steel jacket and a much smaller ground wire.

That cable should be fine for your application. However that's not a GFI type breaker.
2P15A GFI circuit breaker
 
CasualJoe voted this post useful.
  #5  
Old 01-03-21, 07:19 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 239
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Yikes! I didn't catch that the first time you mentioned. I didn't realize this application requires ground fault.

Thanks!
 
  #6  
Old 01-03-21, 07:23 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 239
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
PJmax - Wow! I guess I won't be buying it at Home Depot

https://www.homedepot.ca/product/sie...ker/1000406276

Ouch!
 
  #7  
Old 01-03-21, 07:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
You can check with your local code to see if it's required. It is here in the States.
 
  #8  
Old 01-03-21, 07:39 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 239
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
I'm just reading the specs on the Schluter site. They say they have built in GFCI but I imagine code trumps this if it says it's required

https://www.schluter.com/schluter-us...0the%20breaker.

 
  #9  
Old 01-03-21, 08:39 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
It says the same thing on the Canadian site so it looks like an additional GFI breaker will not be needed.
 
  #10  
Old 01-03-21, 08:53 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 239
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Do you think there's any point to using one anyways? Would it provide an extra layer of protection or is it totally redundant?

I know.... Just that I'm the sort of person who has two smoke detectors in every required position instead of just the one.... For me, safety is worth a few extra bucks.

I've never had flooding but my (never used) basement sump pump has a backup pump that's powered by city water pressure should power fail
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: