Garage outlets

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-06-21, 06:49 PM
palmcoast's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 124
Received 2 Votes on 1 Post
Garage outlets

I have one 20 amp dedicated circuit for my garage for 4 outlets. I want to add another outlet in my garage and put in two LED lights in the garage attic by wiring into an existing 20 AMP circuit that only feeds 3 receptacles in a family room that backs up to the garage. I will be protecting the circuit with a GFCI/AFCI breaker. Does code permit having an outlet in the garage that shares a circuit with the living quarters even though I already met the portion of the code requiring a dedicated circuit for outlets or do all outlets need to be on a separate circuit from the living area?
 

Popular Reply

 
01-06-21, 07:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
PJmax
PJmax is online now
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,924
Received 1,347 Votes on 1,245 Posts
210.11(C)(4) Garage Branch Circuits. In addition to the number of branch circuits required by other parts of this section, at least one 120-volt, 20-ampere branch circuit shall be installed to supply receptacle outlets in attached garages
Since you've already met the code..... I don't see a reason why you can't do what you want.
I couldn't find a place in the code that said you cannot do that.
 
  #2  
Old 01-06-21, 07:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,924
Received 1,347 Votes on 1,245 Posts
210.11(C)(4) Garage Branch Circuits. In addition to the number of branch circuits required by other parts of this section, at least one 120-volt, 20-ampere branch circuit shall be installed to supply receptacle outlets in attached garages
Since you've already met the code..... I don't see a reason why you can't do what you want.
I couldn't find a place in the code that said you cannot do that.
 
palmcoast, Zorfdt voted this post useful.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: