Does this box need a cover!

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-22-21, 03:43 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 83
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Does this box need a cover!

Itís a splice in an accessible drop ceiling. Thanks
 

Popular Reply

 
01-22-21, 03:44 PM
joed
joed is offline
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,794
Received 307 Votes on 263 Posts
Yes. All boxes need covers.
 
  #2  
Old 01-22-21, 03:44 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,794
Received 307 Votes on 263 Posts
Yes. All boxes need covers.
 
bulova, CasualJoe, joecaption voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 01-22-21, 03:52 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,862
Received 85 Votes on 80 Posts
It would not even past a home inspection without at least a blank cover.
 
  #4  
Old 01-22-21, 06:26 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,369
Received 1,397 Votes on 1,294 Posts
I see two problems.
1) one cables jacket not inside the box.
2) aluminum wiring with wrong splice devices.
 
  #5  
Old 01-22-21, 06:26 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: United States
Posts: 35
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
"All boxes need covers."
. . .To contain the high temperature generated by an improperly installed Wirenut while passing high current, long enough for the fire dept. to get there.

Ideal makes a tester for checking this, you may be able to rent it.
 
  #6  
Old 01-22-21, 08:23 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 83
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Better? Itís not aluminum itís standard NM romex. Sheathing is in box just canít see it in the pic. Th

anks
 
  #7  
Old 01-22-21, 08:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,369
Received 1,397 Votes on 1,294 Posts
Just keeping an eye on you. Looks good...
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: