Need help with plug

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-27-21, 01:59 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Need help with plug

This will probably make me look like a complete moron, but...The black plug here is from a sump pump that I'm going to be removing soon (it came with the house). When I unwind that knot, I still can't get the cord free because the plug end is too big (i.e. the space between the bar and the wall is too narrow for the plug to fit through). It looks like when it was installed they somehow had the bar removed or some aspect of the electrical boxes/bar pulled away from the wall, stuck the plug through, then reattached. I've looked inside the box on the right and I still don't see any simple way to do this. Would appreciate if anyone could give me a solution or if this was done in a way that I would have to cut the plug and obviously ruin that pump. Thank you.
 

Popular Reply

 
01-27-21, 03:17 PM
2john02458
2john02458 is offline
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA near Boston, MA
Posts: 1,097
Received 79 Votes on 67 Posts
Pull the plug out of the outlet. Slide it through the loop above the conduit. Slide the loop from behind the conduit.

The plug does NOT have to go behind the conduit!
 
  #2  
Old 01-27-21, 02:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,369
Received 1,397 Votes on 1,294 Posts
Both boxes are attached to the wall with some type of masonry fastener. Possibly a molly and screws.
Turn the power off and open the right hand box. Look at the back against the wall for screws.
Once they're out you can slide the box out of the conduit and away from the wall.
 
  #3  
Old 01-27-21, 02:57 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,794
Received 307 Votes on 263 Posts
You probably won't need to slide the box out off the conduit. Once the box is unscrewed from the wall it will probably flex enough to get either cord behind the box or plug between the conduit and the wall.
 
  #4  
Old 01-27-21, 03:17 PM
2
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA near Boston, MA
Posts: 1,097
Received 79 Votes on 67 Posts
Pull the plug out of the outlet. Slide it through the loop above the conduit. Slide the loop from behind the conduit.

The plug does NOT have to go behind the conduit!
 
CasualJoe, cwbuff, Zorfdt voted this post useful.
  #5  
Old 01-27-21, 03:18 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Unfortunately I'm not seeing a screw head inside the box. The only thing I see that seems to be holding it to the wall is that metal peg, but the surface is smooth.
 
  #6  
Old 01-27-21, 04:09 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 9,708
Received 311 Votes on 280 Posts
If you plan on tossing the pump then just cut the cord. Or you can cut the cord at the plug and attach a new one.
That was pretty stupid stunt by the installer.
 
  #7  
Old 01-27-21, 04:14 PM
2
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA near Boston, MA
Posts: 1,097
Received 79 Votes on 67 Posts
STO-O-O-O-O-P! Read Post #4. It's a classic bar puzzle!!!!!!
 
CasualJoe voted this post useful.
  #8  
Old 01-27-21, 04:17 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 9,708
Received 311 Votes on 280 Posts
John, I'm having trouble see it.


YES YES YES, I see it now. WOW!
 
  #9  
Old 01-27-21, 04:20 PM
2
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA near Boston, MA
Posts: 1,097
Received 79 Votes on 67 Posts
Pull the plug. Push the wire that is dropping down in the first photo up to make the loop bigger. Pass the plug through the loop. Drop the plug and if the cord does not drop out by itself pull the loop down.
 
  #10  
Old 01-27-21, 04:21 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 9,708
Received 311 Votes on 280 Posts
Just to prove it to myself I did a mock up of it.
 
  #11  
Old 01-27-21, 04:23 PM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,654
Received 172 Votes on 153 Posts
John is the winner! It's like one of those puzzles where you need to get the ring off.
No need to unscrew anything!
 
  #12  
Old 01-27-21, 04:26 PM
2
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA near Boston, MA
Posts: 1,097
Received 79 Votes on 67 Posts
one of those puzzles where you need to get the ring off.
A bar or tavern puzzle.

I just hope th eOP saw my post before he destroyed the box. He was posting at the same time.
 
  #13  
Old 01-27-21, 05:19 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Well...I still feel like a moron, but I'm glad I'm not the only one who was thrown off by this! Luckily I hadn't proceeded with destroying anything in the meantime. Thanks for the help.
 
2john02458 voted this post useful.
  #14  
Old 01-30-21, 04:58 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,782
Received 99 Votes on 89 Posts
It's a classic bar puzzle!!!!!!
I missed it at first too, but I haven't spent a lot of time in bars......doing puzzles anyway.
 
2john02458 voted this post useful.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: