passed final inspection

Old 06-18-01, 09:13 PM
Able Sashweight
Visiting Guest
Last Friday the city electrical inspector gave final approval my handywork to upgrade and relocate the service entrance. Hurray! He asked me if I was an electrician by trade, which I took as a compliment.

Here are the details. This is an overhead entrance, 200 amp, dropping to a meter base and cutoff panel, with 2 inch conduit extending down the wall to an SLB and nipple that pierced the brick wall into the crawl space. Entering the crawlspace through that nipple are a 4 wire (3 x 3/0 plus 4AWG ground) feed to a 200 amp bottom fed GE subpanel in the utility room, and the two ends of a 4AW bare copper round electrode conductor loop. The GEC loop is Cadwelded to two ground rods on opposite sides of the house, and clamped to the cold water pipes.

Whether or not the GEC could share the conduit between the service entrance and the crawlspace with the 200A feed to the subpanel was the subject of a thread here. The view of the AHJ was yes, providing certain bonding requirements were met and providing that the place where the feeder and the GEC part ways be in a junction box.

Its kind of a trip to have done this, having had no practical electrical experience before. And it would have been immeasurably more difficult without the help of those who post here.

My humble thanks,
Able Sashweight

Sponsored Links
Old 06-19-01, 08:31 AM
Visiting Guest