will paddle switches and GFI fit?


  #1  
Old 04-28-21, 10:05 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 10,209
Received 374 Votes on 339 Posts
Exclamation will paddle switches and GFI fit?

I'll be replacing this outlet with a GFCI. In addition I want to replace the toggle switches with paddle switches. If I'm not mistaken I think the bodies on those are bigger. Will I have enough room in the box to add those?
BTW...two separate circuits. Outlet on one, lights switches on another.
correction: No need to change out the outlet, that's already protected with GFCI at circuit box.
 

Last edited by Norm201; 04-28-21 at 10:22 AM. Reason: correction
  #2  
Old 04-28-21, 11:26 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 25,571
Received 967 Votes on 888 Posts
You'll need to remove the cover plate and look at how big the box is inside the wall to make sure but you should have enough room without the GFCI. You may need to do some folding of the wires around the new switches to get everything to fit but it should fit. If it's really tight I'll pre-bend the wires while the switches and outlets are out of the box. Then I push them all back as one and screw them in place.
 
Norm201 voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 04-28-21, 06:29 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,205
Received 369 Votes on 319 Posts
While the face of a Decora (paddle) switch is larger, the body is very close to the same size as a standard residential switch. You should have no issues fitting them inside the box.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: