Power outlets do not work in one room


  #1  
Old 05-04-21, 08:37 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Power outlets do not work in one room

Hi, I have four sets of outlets in one room and three and a half is not working. Since The bottom outlet of one outlet works, My guess is there is a faulty outlet somewhere and not an issue with the breaker. Is this a correct assessment?

Also, how do I find out which one is faulty or should I just replace them all?
 
  #2  
Old 05-04-21, 09:07 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,936
Received 336 Votes on 289 Posts
Probably a correct assessment.
Has any work been done in the room?
Are there any switch controlled receptacles in the room?
 
  #3  
Old 05-04-21, 09:27 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No work has been done. There is a light switch that controls the ceiling fan but that is currently working properly.
 
  #4  
Old 05-04-21, 09:49 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 25,553
Received 966 Votes on 887 Posts
Remove the outlets and you can check the actual connections in back with a multi meter or simply inspect and re-install the wires. If your outlets use the push in connectors in the back of the outlet they are more prone to failure. Using the screws on the side of the outlet is more reliable.
 
  #5  
Old 05-04-21, 12:26 PM
maarkr's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 444
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Be sure to shut the breaker(s) off before working on it. Follow Pilot Dane's advice. You did not say if the power quit recently or if this is old construction revisited. Retighten connections and check for burn marks at connection sites.
 
  #6  
Old 05-04-21, 03:23 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,936
Received 336 Votes on 289 Posts
The half working receptacle is where I would start. If no work has been done then that receptacle is defective for sure. It should not have the tab cut, but if it was and a jumper used, then the jumper could have come loose.
 
  #7  
Old 05-04-21, 04:56 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes this just recently happened like a couple weeks ago with no renovations.

I also did notice this is a push in receptacle not a screw on the side. So I think I'll purchase screw on the side type receptacles and start by replacing the one with half working receptacle. And also I'll make sure to turn off the breakers while working on them.

Thanks everyone for your input This really helps.
 
  #8  
Old 05-05-21, 04:21 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 25,553
Received 966 Votes on 887 Posts
Most receptacles come with both push terminals and screws. You probably don't need new receptacles.
 
CasualJoe voted this post useful.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: