two pole 30 amp breaker


  #1  
Old 05-06-21, 06:31 PM
guarddog73's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2021
Location: United States
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
two pole 30 amp breaker

Hello guys;
I'm confused on the two pole breaker. Since I found the problem to my other issues with the wiring in this trailer I want to rewire the living room and dining room with all new wiring, so I know that there won't be any issues. So here's my question about the breaker that the manager brought me to use for the rewire. Since it's a two pole breaker, is it possible to have the living room on one side and have the dining room on the other?

I would like to have the porch light and two living room lights and 4 receptacles on one side and on the other have one light and 2 receptacles on the other…

Or will it be safe to run all that on one side and when I get into the kitchen put two light and 4 or 6 receptacles on the other. I know that breaker would probably run half this trailer on it. So please give me some more ideas on how to do this breaker Please and thank you.


~ Kevin ~

that wire was the issue I had with the trailer having the electrical problem on the siding and skirting
 
Attached Images    
  #2  
Old 05-06-21, 08:13 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,937
Received 337 Votes on 290 Posts
NO. You have the wrong breaker. A 2 pole breaker is fine. But a 30 amp breaker is not fine for receptacles and lights. It needs to be 15 or 20 amp breaker depending on the size of the wire. #14 = 15 amp breaker. #12 = 20 amp breaker.
 
CasualJoe voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 05-07-21, 02:09 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 649
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
If the manager gave you a two pole 30amp breaker to use for standard receptacles and lighting then don't take any more advice from that manager.

As Joed already stated a two pole breaker is ok under certain conditions like in a MwBc; but let's not go there yet. And even if it was used for a MWBC a 30amp can not be used for standard receptacles and lighting..
In this case just put the 30amp breaker off to the side. it may come in handy for something else down the line but not for re-wiring the rooms you want to.

Again - 14 gauge wire on a 15amp breaker and 12 gauge wire on a 20amp breaker.

You are talking about re-wiring the living room, dining room and the kitchen so far. There are a certain set of codes you need to follow for wiring a kitchen and dining room and how many circuits as a minimum you must have and the circuits being 20amp circuits - SABC etc. How many breaker spaces do you have available in your panel now? You say "trailer".. Most trailers when built have instead of regular receptacle and switch boxes have self-contained units which are far different to wire. Also the walls are not as deep so using larger/deeper new boxes don't always work out.
 
  #4  
Old 05-07-21, 05:54 AM
guarddog73's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2021
Location: United States
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Joed and Afjes, thank you. I thought that breaker wasn't going to work for what I was needing to do. I procrastinated half the day trying to figure out how I was going to get the breaker to work. And Afjes the breaker box that I was going to use is outside the trailer, and it can only hold one more breaker. Just like the one I have shown you. And the breaker box that's inside here I'm not sure on how many more single breakers it can hold, but I know there are 4 that doesn't turn off or on anything in this place.
So my idea was to use them to get the job done.
Ya the guy that is the manager I don't think he really knew what he's doing and a manager. I do have enough common sense to know when something doesn't feel right to sit back and figure out why it doesn't and if I can't figure it out I ask questions. But THANK YOU guys
 
  #5  
Old 05-07-21, 08:23 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,937
Received 337 Votes on 290 Posts
The story is different than I thought. Please clarify. You said outside and inside box. Is that breaker feeding the inside box? If it is then it could be the correct breaker. The breakers on the inside box should be the ones feeding the individual circuits.
 
  #6  
Old 05-08-21, 04:25 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 649
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
Good catch Joed!! - I missed that part.

guarddog73 please do clarify what Joed asks. It could make a difference.
 
  #7  
Old 05-08-21, 02:56 PM
guarddog73's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2021
Location: United States
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No, the people that lived here before me put a separate breaker box outside, so they could bypass the problems with the electrical problem they caused.

See when I moved in this place two walls had receptacles, but they covered them up and cut the wires to them dew to a short in the wiring that caused a fire by the front door that I didn't know about until I started replacing the receptacles because the were either broke or wore out. And now I found the reason for the short and eliminated the short caused by a bare wire in the ceiling. So now all I'm going to do is connect everything back up properly to the trailer I'm not going to mess with the box outside. The only extra I'm doing is putting in a new light switch and light in the living room
 
  #8  
Old 05-22-21, 11:24 PM
guarddog73's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2021
Location: United States
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thank you

I want to say thank you to everyone that has helped me with my electrical issues that ive had.

My project is complete and all the issues have been resolved, It took me awhile to get the job done but its done.. THANKS guys
 
  #9  
Old 05-23-21, 04:09 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 649
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
Glad that you got it all resolved.

Can you give us a run-down of what you did?

.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: