Remove Light Fixture and No Power


  #1  
Old 05-11-21, 05:13 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Remove Light Fixture and No Power

Hello,
I remove a hardwired fluorescent light Fixture from my garage and replaced it with a plug in led Fixture. The hardwired one was connected to a motion sensor near the switch for the garage door opener which I am no longer using. After removing the Fixture I just wire nuts to cap off the wires. When I turned the breaker back on the power came back on to my new Fixture that was plugged in and my garage but my lights just inside the house in a laundry nook and overhead lights in the kitchen hall didn't come back on. I'm assuming I broke the circuit by removing the Fixture and now I'm not sure which wires to put together to fix it.The black wires were already together when I removed the Fixture. Any help is greatly appreciated.


 
  #2  
Old 05-11-21, 06:11 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,205
Received 369 Votes on 319 Posts
A quick guess would be you have to connect the two white wires together. They should be your neutral. I say it is a guess because sometimes a white wire is used as a hot for a switch loop. Your box does not look like one to me so you can turn off the power and connect the whites together and turn it back on. IF the breaker trips, post back and we can troubleshoot more.
 
  #3  
Old 05-11-21, 08:42 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you very much Tolyn, that did the trick. Everything is working correctly.
So I'm a newbie when it comes to electrical. Can I cut that that pigtail/splice bare ground wire off so I just have 1 bare ground wire coming out of each bundle of wires and then wrap the two bare wires around the screw and a screw them into the hole on the box? Thank you again.
 
  #4  
Old 05-11-21, 11:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,649
Received 1,611 Votes on 1,483 Posts
The two grounds need to be connected by an acceptable method. In your case a crimp was used.
Remove that piece of metal with the screw and leave the grounds just as they are.
Use the single ground wire to connect to the new fixture.
 
  #5  
Old 05-12-21, 11:42 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for the reply PjMax. I'm not going to be putting a new Fixture in this spot so and I won't be using this box/wiring at all. Can I connect the 2 ground wires and call it day since they won't be going to a new Fixture or do they still need to be grounded to something and if so what as the box is plastic. I know this is basic stuff but it's new to me and I just want to seal it up correctly now that everything is working right. Thank you.
 
  #6  
Old 05-12-21, 12:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,649
Received 1,611 Votes on 1,483 Posts
Since the box is not metal.... there is no need to connect the grounds to the box.
You can cut them apart and then reconnect with a wirenut.
 
  #7  
Old 05-12-21, 01:06 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Excellent. Thank you both very much!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: