changing wall outlet

Old 07-03-01, 07:47 PM
G
Visiting Guest
I am trying to replace a wall outlet because plugs fall out easily. It is a standard grounded receptacle with 15 Amps and 125 V. However the new outlet's holes for pushing in the wire, are smaller and I can't get the wire to go in. Can I wrap the wire around the screw? Or try to make the holes in the new outlet larger. I am brand new at this and need simple detailed information. Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 07-03-01, 08:14 PM
R
raca
Visiting Guest
Actually wrapping the wire is better than back stabbing just make sure you wrap it in the clockwise direction so when you tighten the screw it closes the loop

Old 07-03-01, 08:23 PM
G
Visiting Guest
Backstab or Screw mount

Since the subject was brought up, and I've heard both pro and con -- why do you professionals say that connecting a wire via the screw terminals is better than using the 'backstab' method? I choose to use the backstab method with outlets to avoid a loose connection should the screw terminal back out. I've never seen a screw terminal connection with any kind of locking device that would ensure a tight connection 'forever' whereas you can't easily disconnect a connection that uses the insertion mode.

Stephen
--------

Old 07-03-01, 09:21 PM
R
raca
Visiting Guest
Ive found a few cases where the back stabbing was faulty knocking out everything tied in after it.Ive pulled out a few receptacles that where backstabbed too and the wires fell right out.My opinion is terminals are better.

Old 07-03-01, 09:48 PM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Stephen,

Everybody bad-mouths backstabbing for good reason. They are responsible for lots of failures. The backstab makes a very poor connection, with only a very small area of contact. The screw connection, even a poorly done or loose one, makes much more contact than the backstab.