Subpanel in Outdoor Shed


  #1  
Old 06-20-22, 09:09 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 81
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Subpanel in Outdoor Shed

Want to run an underground feed to my backyard shed via PVC -18" underground.
I studied the sub-panel diagrams on this forum.
On the shed panel: 1. lamp circuit 2. Locally protected GFI convenience outlets.
The shed is about 60 feet away from the house panel (20' indoors.+ 40' outdoors).
Can I use 3 (solid or stranded) 12 ga wiring in a split 220 feed from my indoor panel to the two 15 amp circuits in the shed?
(I don't need a 220 outlet in the shed -just two 15 amp circuits.)
Obviously, I would also need to pull a ground wire in addition to the 3 wires for the feed.
The indoor wiring from the panel to the outdoor PVC would be connected via a 1900 box.
So, is it ok to pull 3 - 12 ga + ground wire?
My main concern is the voltage drop over the 60' span.
Bumping up to 10ga wire would substantially increase the cost of the project over 12 ga.
Any additional comments are appreciated.
Thanks for your expert guidance.
 
  #2  
Old 06-21-22, 07:25 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,867
Received 220 Likes on 187 Posts
Really depends on what you plan on plugging into the 20A outlet circuit. If just doing 20A feed to shed you can use UF-b and and not use a subpanel or conduit. Use a jbox with a snap switch for disconnect and branch out for lights and outlets.
 

Last edited by pattenp; 06-21-22 at 07:43 AM.
  #3  
Old 06-21-22, 08:17 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 81
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks for this suggestion of just an outlet with a cut-off switch.
Still need to know what wire size to use for the 60' run for 2-15 amp circuits. Will 12 ga be sufficient?
Concerned over voltage drop over that distance.
 
  #4  
Old 06-21-22, 09:21 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,867
Received 220 Likes on 187 Posts
If using #12 and utilizing it at 15A then there is no issue with voltage drop.
 
The following users liked this post:
  #5  
Old 06-22-22, 05:39 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,963
Likes: 0
Received 229 Likes on 210 Posts
I would choose a conduit size that would allow upgrading to 10 gauge (or even 8 gauge) wiring in the future, but this is up to you.

Save having to redig the trench if your power needs increase in the future.

You don't have to install a subpanel out in the shed right now when the shed circuit is drawing (and the breaker back at the house is) no more than 20 amps..
 
The following users liked this post:
  #6  
Old 06-29-22, 05:45 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 81
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Many thanks for sharing your expertise.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: