Need help to wire toggle switch pool pump


  #1  
Old 08-11-22, 06:39 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2022
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help to wire toggle switch pool pump

I really need some help
I bought a pool pump to replace an old one. The new one has a two speed toggle switch (High, Off and Low speed) There are three connection points The wiring diagram says to connect one wire to the center and one to L. I only have two red and one green wires.
I connected as in the diagram (I think) but the switch will not work even though the pump is running
HELP!!!!
 
  #2  
Old 08-11-22, 06:46 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,108
Received 2,957 Votes on 2,668 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

When wiring a motor or anything else..... green is only a ground.
A two speed motor needs three wires.... common, high and low.
Typically that would be white, black and red.
Is this a 120v or 240v motor ?

Post a wiring diagram picture or motor model number for more help..... How to insert pictures.
 
  #3  
Old 08-11-22, 06:58 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2022
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I can't seem to figure out sending pictures
I only have 3 wires, one is green ground
 
  #4  
Old 08-11-22, 07:07 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2022
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
photos



 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-11-22 at 07:33 PM. Reason: resize pics
  #5  
Old 08-11-22, 07:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,108
Received 2,957 Votes on 2,668 Posts
I left you a link to picture posting.


Does this make sense and help you ?
 
  #6  
Old 08-11-22, 07:08 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2022
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The two black wires are the switch connections
 
  #7  
Old 08-11-22, 07:09 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2022
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I do not have a white wire
 
  #8  
Old 08-11-22, 07:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,108
Received 2,957 Votes on 2,668 Posts
There is a temporary picture problem on the board.

You have two black wires connecting high and low from the motor to the switch.
You have two red wires.... (240v in)
One red wire goes to center of switch. Other red wire goes to center terminal.

So move the red wire you put on the left terminal to the center of the switch.
 
  #9  
Old 08-11-22, 07:27 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2022
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If i put both wires on the center of the three connections, it blows the breaker
I sent two photos earlier
 
  #10  
Old 08-11-22, 07:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,108
Received 2,957 Votes on 2,668 Posts
I just left you a picture.

One red wire goes to center of switch. The other goes to the center terminal.
 
  #11  
Old 08-11-22, 07:36 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2022
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'll have to look on the back of the pump to see if there is a way to connect to the switch
Thanks so much I'll let you know what I find
 
  #12  
Old 08-11-22, 07:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,108
Received 2,957 Votes on 2,668 Posts
You may need a crimp terminal.
Actually there should have been a short piece of wire and crimp already on that switch.

 
  #13  
Old 08-11-22, 07:50 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2022
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I didn't see one but you are amazing and such a big help
I should have realized I had no power to the switch leg
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: