AprilAire 700m on Goodman GMSS921005C


  #1  
Old 11-25-22, 11:41 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
AprilAire 700m on Goodman GMSS921005C

Hello,
I am trying to install AprilAire 700M humidifier on my Goodman GMSS92 1005C. AprilAire requires 120 VAC Outlet. The furnace has a switch on the side of it, which is on a 15 amp circuit. The furnace minimum operating ampacity is 13.7. Can I change the switch to combination switch (switch with an outlet) to plug in the humidifier or will that cause any issues? Or do I need to use a different outlet on a different circuit?
 
  #2  
Old 11-26-22, 06:40 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,800
Received 83 Upvotes on 75 Posts
Many installs skip the transformer and get 24vac from the furnace terminals C and W connections. A lot less work.
 
  #3  
Old 11-26-22, 11:10 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Astuff I plan on using the terminals instead of the transformer, although, goodman diagram says that I should use the C and front cover pressure switch. But regardless, are you saying I wont need to plug in the humidifier into an outlet?
http://docs.electronicaircleaners.co...stallation.pdf
 
  #4  
Old 11-26-22, 12:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,675
Received 3,332 Upvotes on 2,991 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Yes..... you should use C and front cover pressure switch HUM connection.
Yes... your 700M will still needs to be plugged into 120vac as it has an internal fan in it.
The 24v from the furnace activates a relay to turn the fan on and open the solenoid.
You will still need a mechanical humidistat inline.
 
  #5  
Old 11-26-22, 02:41 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
PJmax ok thank you for clarifying. but my question is can I use the switch, that is used to turn furnace on/off on the side of it, to convert it into combination switch (outlet and on/off) to power the humidifier? I was told that I shouldn't do that because if furnace turns on while humidifier is plugged in, it might trip the breaker?
 
  #6  
Old 11-26-22, 04:44 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,675
Received 3,332 Upvotes on 2,991 Posts
That is completely not true.
It is ideal to replace the service switch with a combo where the receptacle is also switch controlled.
Let me know which combo you get if you have wiring questions.
 
  #7  
Old 11-26-22, 05:58 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
PJmax Perfect, thank you so much. I was going to replace the switch with this: https://www.homedepot.com/p/Leviton-...-0WS/202035011

black - line
brass - to load
silver - neutral
green - ground

I'll let you know if I have questions how to wire it, but I think I should be able to figure it out.


thank you again!!!!

 
  #8  
Old 11-26-22, 09:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,675
Received 3,332 Upvotes on 2,991 Posts
Normally the receptacle is wired to shut off with the switch so that the furnace and humidifier are dead.
Since the humidifier is plugged in that's not necessary.

For both to shut off together......
The right two black screws should be tied together with a bridge clip.
Line would go to brass and load would go to either black screw.
 
  #9  
Old 11-27-22, 07:07 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
PJmax Ahh ok, thats good to know. I wired it like so:
line - to black screw
load to brass screw
I have receptacle independent of the switch.
I might re-do it later where the switch turns off both the receptacle and the furnace.

but I greatly appreciate your help. thank you again.

 
  #10  
Old 11-27-22, 08:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,675
Received 3,332 Upvotes on 2,991 Posts
You're welcome.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: