Running underground wire to shed


  #1  
Old 03-25-23, 09:24 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2023
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Running underground wire to shed

This is for a roughly 40 foot run from my house to my shed. I know code says at my 2-foot trench depth I don't need conduit, but I'd like to put my wire in conduit anyways.

I'm running 100Amp, 240VAC, so I need 3 conductors + 1 ground at 1AWG. Should I just buy 4 lengths of single-wire 1AWG THWN? Or is there a better way?
 

Top Answer

 
03-25-23, 02:09 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Tolyn Ironhand
Tolyn Ironhand is online now
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,893
Received 712 Upvotes on 605 Posts
If you are running PVC conduit you only need to dig 18" down.

For 100 amps you need to run #3 copper or #1 aluminum for the two hots and neutral wires. The ground can be #8 copper or #6 aluminum.

I would only recommend running individual wires in conduit. THWN copper or XHHW aluminum.
 
  #2  
Old 03-25-23, 11:00 AM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 9,482
Received 1,145 Upvotes on 1,038 Posts
Should I just buy 4 lengths of single-wire 1AWG THWN? Or is there a better way?
When I wired my 50 Amp spa they were all single wires, I do not believe there is any other option especially if your trying to pull that through conduit!
 
  #3  
Old 03-25-23, 02:09 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,893
Received 712 Upvotes on 605 Posts
If you are running PVC conduit you only need to dig 18" down.

For 100 amps you need to run #3 copper or #1 aluminum for the two hots and neutral wires. The ground can be #8 copper or #6 aluminum.

I would only recommend running individual wires in conduit. THWN copper or XHHW aluminum.
 
CasualJoe, Zorfdt voted this post useful.
  #4  
Old 03-25-23, 04:41 PM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,877
Received 372 Upvotes on 332 Posts
At that size (anything over #6) you can re-identify the wires.

So you can purchase 120' of black wire, cut in 3 pieces and mark one as white/neutral. You could also purchase 160' and cut it in 4 and mark one white and one green - but it may be cheaper to downsize the ground as Tolyn mentioned.

(Obviously purchase some extra so you don't run short. Cable stretchers are hard to find! (joke)
 
  #5  
Old 03-25-23, 06:44 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,634
Received 243 Upvotes on 207 Posts
Technically buried PVC conduit by the NEC requires 18" of cover, so that means the trench needs to be a few inches deeper than 18".
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: