Metal retrofit box for stud?


  #1  
Old 06-01-23, 01:32 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chicago land
Posts: 681
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Metal retrofit box for stud?

I am planning to add an electrical outlet (1 gang).
I am finding a lot of metal retrofit boxes for drywall-no stud.
Is it not very common to retrofit to stud?
 
  #2  
Old 06-01-23, 01:52 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 63,041
Received 3,593 Upvotes on 3,222 Posts
If the wall is open you want a slap-on or hammer-on box. They can be attached with SM screws.
If the sheetrock is in place and you want to cut a hole next to it..... use a smart box.

 
  #3  
Old 06-01-23, 02:21 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chicago land
Posts: 681
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
thanks. Is there a smart box for conduit country? I would use flex.
 
  #4  
Old 06-01-23, 02:25 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,555
Received 195 Upvotes on 167 Posts
Most old work (retrofit) boxes work even if the cutout is right next to stud. Old work boxes that can be mounted to the stud is only available in plastic (at least I haven't seen one). This probably is because screws will have to be driven in angle from inside and it is someone difficult to manufacture with steel.
Some steel boxes have 1/8" holes on sides (toward front) that you can drive screw through, but I am not sure if that is their intended purpose.
 
  #5  
Old 06-01-23, 02:45 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: US
Posts: 1,066
Received 168 Upvotes on 145 Posts
Metal old-work box and Madison bars/straps (F-straps, battleshups, etc). There's bound to be videos on YT showing how to use them. Watch several because there's a right way and a wrong way to install them and not everything on YT is correct.
 
  #6  
Old 06-01-23, 03:43 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 63,041
Received 3,593 Upvotes on 3,222 Posts
Since smart boxes are used with NM type cables.... I don't think you'll find one that will have a 1/2" ko hole.
 
  #7  
Old 06-01-23, 05:19 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,069
Received 778 Upvotes on 658 Posts
If the wall has drywall then you do not need to attach it to a stud. Just use a metal remodel box and attach it to the drywall using madison straps/F straps
 
  #8  
Old 06-10-23, 04:32 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,012
Received 158 Upvotes on 144 Posts
OK, Iíll bite, what is a Smart box?
Geo🇺🇸
 
  #9  
Old 06-10-23, 05:03 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,069
Received 778 Upvotes on 658 Posts
It is the plastic box in PJMax's post #2
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: