240V breaker not giving any power to my electric oven

Old 09-23-23, 05:47 PM
S
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
240V breaker not giving any power to my electric oven

Hello all,
I am quite new at this DIY electrical stuff so feel free to be as thorough to my mistakes here.
Currently, we are changing from a gas range to an electric oven. So we decided to add an outlet for the 240v 50A max.
I used an 8/3 Romex for this (we called an electrician and they gave us 10/3 mistakenly. Ran it along the walls with supports and connected it to a 240v/50A 4-prong outlet.
I connected it to the circuit breaker as well after turning everything off. The neutral and ground wires are on the bars, they are not separated since this is the main circuit breaker of my house.
Then once powered on we get nothing. I tested the voltage to find 0V through the hot wire connection and the ground. I'm not sure if I just wired something wrong.
Thank you all in advance for the advice given.

wire connections to the outlet

wire connections to the outlet.

current outlet I've installed

Current circuit breaker with markers on the new double pole and romex wire feeding int othe breakre box.

behind the circuit breaker

Top Answer

09-23-23, 08:05 PM
Tolyn Ironhand
Group Moderator
Received 812 Upvotes on 684 Posts
See PJmax's post #2. You cannot put a breaker in that location of the panel.

#8 Romex is only allowed to be protected by a 40 amp breaker max. You need to replace that breaker with a two pole 40 amp.

Old 09-23-23, 06:14 PM
Group Moderator
Received 3,749 Upvotes on 3,362 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Your wiring looks ok.
Did you check from red to ground and black to ground right at the panel ?
Should be 120v on each leg.
How about from red to black at the breaker ? Should be 240v.

If that's ok....you should get 240v from L1 to L2 on the receptacle.
AND 120v from L1 to N or G and 120v from L2 to N or G.

Just noticed on a second look..............