2nd ground needed?


  #1  
Old 07-15-01, 10:08 PM
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
My outside main service panel is grounded as normal. My neighbor told me in order to play it very safe, to also ground the inside service panel. He suggested driving another grounding rod in the ground and running a ground from the inside panel to it. What do you think about this?

Thank You
 
  #2  
Old 07-16-01, 06:34 AM
T
Member
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Dry Side of Washington State
Posts: 685
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Is your neighbor an electrician?
 
  #3  
Old 07-16-01, 07:23 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Don't pay any attention to this neighbor. Maybe your neighbor on the other side can help.
 
  #4  
Old 07-16-01, 07:25 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Fayetteville, NY, USA
Posts: 969
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
I would run a grounding conductor directly from the grounding lug or bus of the inside panel to the grounding lug or bus in your main service panel. I would use a bare copper #6 conductor if your service is up to 175 amps, #4 if 200 - 225 amps, or #2 from 250 to 350 amps. Separate grounding electrode systems for your two panels are not permitted. You could create a potential difference that could cause shock or death with separate ground systems. If you were to add a second rod it would need to be minimum 6' away from your existing rod, and both rods must be connected to each other at some point. Hope that helps.

Juice
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: