Install GFCI receptacle in box with 6 wires


  #1  
Old 04-02-24, 02:20 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2024
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Install GFCI receptacle in box with 6 wires

Hi, i want to replace this old receptacle and install GFCI. The left top cable is line feeding from panel. The right top cable goes to ceiling light, the bottom cable goes to the next outlet. How should I connect the GFCI? Do I use current pigtail configuration? Thanks for your help!






 
  #2  
Old 04-02-24, 02:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,161
Received 3,999 Upvotes on 3,589 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

When circuits are discussed it's by cables.
You have three cables there. I don't see any ground wires. Were they cut off ??
One is feed in.
One is feed out to another receptacle.
Third cable is the feed to a light switch and light.
Do I have all that correct ?

 
  #3  
Old 04-02-24, 02:32 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,651
Received 7 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Can you even fit a boxy GFCI plus all three cables? What is the box capacity?
 
  #4  
Old 04-02-24, 03:27 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 126
Upvotes: 0
Received 37 Upvotes on 31 Posts
You can probably get rid of the wire nuts since modern GFCIs can accept two wires from the back (i.e. two line/neutral pairs plus two load/neutral pairs).
 
  #5  
Old 04-02-24, 06:41 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,980
Received 196 Upvotes on 172 Posts
Do the downstream receptacles need gfi protection? If so, place that cable on the load terminals. Connect power in and the lights on the line terminals.
 
  #6  
Old 04-03-24, 01:46 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,015
Received 167 Upvotes on 138 Posts
Is that a square-back box? It does not look like it is. If it is not the GFCI may not fit in it.
Maybe it is the angle of the photo.

No ground wires?


 
  #7  
Old 04-03-24, 08:31 AM
Z
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,400
Received 127 Upvotes on 118 Posts
My house was built in 1967 and the receptacle boxes in the house have the shape identical to yours. I tried to put in a GFCI receptacle in one and no way would it fit. Wound up replacing the box.
 
AFJES voted this post useful.
  #8  
Old 04-03-24, 09:41 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,015
Received 167 Upvotes on 138 Posts
"My house was built in 1967 and the receptacle boxes in the house have the shape identical to yours. I tried to put in a GFCI receptacle in one and no way would it fit. Wound up replacing the box."

Yup if Borean02 has the same box as you zoesdad than the box will need to be replaced. No way will a GFCI fit in that box without a square-back. Even the newer less deep ones won't fit.
 
  #9  
Old 04-03-24, 10:37 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,651
Received 7 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Is it in the garage or living area?

May be an extension box can be used to provide additional capacity and depth.

I would protect the downstream receptacle by placing it on the load side of the GFCI, but the light fixture to be spliced with the feed.
 
  #10  
Old 04-05-24, 05:04 PM
G
Gen
Gen is offline
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: US
Posts: 807
Received 17 Upvotes on 12 Posts
I see little possibility to fit a GFCI in that box. I vote with Miami and AFJES to accommodate the GFCI using a surface extension box, which will be much easier than replacing the existing one. Especially because...from your photo, looks like the box is in a basement or utility area?

Here are 3 possibilities.






Example box. Use a GFCI plate.




 
  #11  
Old 04-05-24, 05:32 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 27,133
Received 1,924 Upvotes on 1,728 Posts
I'd get rid of that single gang box and replace it with a double gang box, then put a 4x4 single mud ring on it.

...but I'm no 'lectrician.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: