Help With Selecting Disconnect Box


  #1  
Old 04-10-24, 12:13 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 40
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Help With Selecting Disconnect Box

I have a boat lift. The wiring went to a junction box with a 2 pole light switch to cut off power with no protection besides the breaker in the house. The voltage is 240 (2 blacks and a single white neutral).

I want to replace it with more protection. I am thinking of using the attached 3 pole box with fuses inside. It says it is rated for outdoor use. Does this make sense? The breaker inside is 30A, so I would use 30A fuses in the new box also. If there are better options please let me know and thank you.


 
  #2  
Old 04-10-24, 12:32 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 136
Upvotes: 0
Received 38 Upvotes on 32 Posts
Couple things:
1) It's not necessary to disconnect the neutral
2) The neutral must NOT be fused
 
slynch401k voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 04-10-24, 01:45 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 40
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks Luke, so are you saying I can us a 2 pole box instead? Wire nut the neutrals together and then each black leg on each pole?
 
  #4  
Old 04-10-24, 01:50 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 136
Upvotes: 0
Received 38 Upvotes on 32 Posts
Yes.
 
slynch401k voted this post useful.
  #5  
Old 04-11-24, 08:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,401
Received 4,046 Upvotes on 3,630 Posts
The voltage is 240 (2 blacks and a single white neutral).
That's interesting. Are you sure that's a neutral ?
A 240v hoist should be two hot wires and a ground....,. not neutral.
 
  #6  
Old 04-12-24, 06:50 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 40
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Pete;
confused with the single neutral on the GFIC. Can you look at my diagram and advise? Thank you.

 

Last edited by PJmax; 04-12-24 at 01:37 PM. Reason: resized diagram
  #7  
Old 04-12-24, 06:56 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,711
Received 274 Upvotes on 231 Posts
Is the boat lift circuit GFCI protected? If not, that's more important to add vs. a second layer of overcurrent protection. The GFCI protection should most likely be back at the house.

 
  #8  
Old 04-12-24, 08:42 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 40
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Before it was wired as a 2 pole on/off switch to a GFIC. When the GFIC tripped the lift would not work. I don't think it would actually save a spike to the house. I can put a 30amp dual gfi breaker in my house. I am weighing options before reassembling. Want to protect the control box though. Thanks for the reply.
 
  #9  
Old 04-12-24, 01:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,401
Received 4,046 Upvotes on 3,630 Posts
Does the control box require a neutral ?
That means you would have two hots, a white neutral and a green ground.
Four wires from house to lift.

Most hoists/lifts do not require a neutral.
If I had a boat lift... the GFI protection would not be in the house.
Who wants to walk back to the house every time there is a trip.

You can put a GFI breaker at the lift that connects to both the hots and neutral.

Your diagram shows a neutral to the control board but you would not be using a GFI receptacle.
 
  #10  
Old 04-12-24, 02:06 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 40
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts

The control box does have a neutral. There are 4 wires from house to disconnect. After reviewing the pics that I took, and researching the net, I believe this is how it was wired. Does this make sense and what you would do?
 
  #11  
Old 04-12-24, 02:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,401
Received 4,046 Upvotes on 3,630 Posts
You are showing a GFI receptacle protecting the control board only.
Does the motor require protection too ?

Can you leave a link to the lift system .

 

Last edited by PJmax; 04-12-24 at 02:37 PM.
  #12  
Old 04-12-24, 02:56 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 40
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you. I see what you are saying. I thought the fuses in the disconnect would solve that. Here is a pic from the bottom of the motor.

 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: