two conductors powered by two breakers?

Old 05-27-24, 07:36 AM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
two conductors powered by two breakers?

I'm new to electrical work and I need some help understanding this configuration. My home was wired in the 60s, and the panel and breakers were updated in the 90s.

I was trying to turn off the power for a 1/2" Armored Cable conduit which provides power to the garage door opener and the laundry room. The 1/2" AC cable has a red, black, and white conductor (12/3), but no green or bare ground, just three wires.

When I turned off the 20 amp Laundry breaker, the black wire measured no voltage, but the red wire still had voltage. I then turned off the 20 amp breaker directly below the first one, and the red conductor no longer had voltage.

In the junction box over my garage door opener, the black conduit passed right through the box, while the red and neutral had a pigtail that powered the garage door.

When Breaker 01 is shut off, the Garage Door opener and Laundry room both shut off, but there was still voltage in the junction box/receptacle, which required me to shut off breaker 03.

Do these breakers need to be tied together? Is this normal? Also, the armored steel Cable conduit coming into the box has a metal connector with just those three red, black, and white conductors, no ground wire. The similar 1/2" AC conduit leaving the junction box was also 12/3 but had a green conductor that had a wire nut around it, not the green pass through nuts, but it terminated it. Why would this green conductor not be grounded into the metal box and they just put a wire nut over it?