Single Circuit Transfer Switch Wiring


  #1  
Old 05-28-24, 06:02 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2024
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Single Circuit Transfer Switch Wiring

I want to install a transfer switch so I can hook a generator up to a mini-split ac unit. I would like to use the Reliance CSR-302. I want to confirm the wiring. The existing disconnect wiring is shown below along with the the CSR-302 diagram.

I believe that I wire the incoming red and black wires from.my main panel to the two red wires in the transfer switch, the two black wires coming from the mini-split to the two blacks in the switch and then the white to the white. Correct?




 
  #2  
Old 05-28-24, 06:27 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,428
Received 900 Upvotes on 761 Posts
The white in the disconnect is not being used as a neutral, it is being used as a ground. I suggest you confirm this and perhaps figure out where the bare ground in the NM cable is.
 
  #3  
Old 05-29-24, 04:18 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2024
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
This is an older home (1991). There isn't a bare ground in the NM cable coming from the panel. This is the second time I've found this, the other was to an abandoned 240v outlet for an outdoor electric stove.
 
  #4  
Old 05-29-24, 04:45 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,164
Received 2,271 Upvotes on 2,023 Posts
The problem is your work has to be brought up to the current code because you are installing a new device. So, you need two hots, one neutral and one ground.
 
  #5  
Old 05-29-24, 04:58 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,060
Received 521 Upvotes on 426 Posts
This is an older home (1991). There isn't a bare ground in the NM cable coming from the panel.
That is not old enough to be missing the ground. Ground would have been required at that time.
 
CircuitBreaker voted this post useful.
  #6  
Old 05-29-24, 01:43 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2024
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
My equipment is only looking for two hots and a ground. If I installed a ground, what happens to the neutral?


 
  #7  
Old 05-29-24, 02:59 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,428
Received 900 Upvotes on 761 Posts
The neutral would not be used. However, does your transfer switch require a neutral? Is it an automatic transfer switch or a manual?
 
  #8  
Old 05-29-24, 03:53 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2024
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It is a manual transfer switch and has a neutral (wiring diagram above). I don't know if having one means it requires one. If I connected the neutral from the panel to the neutral in the switch and it "ends" there, that would work, correct?
 
  #9  
Old 05-30-24, 04:39 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,583
Upvotes: 0
Received 288 Upvotes on 263 Posts
A manual transfer switch serving a 240 volt only device would not need a neutral. Perfectly okay to connect the neutral from the feed to the neutral terminal (if any) on the transfer switch and leave it unused otherwise.


 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: