Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

What size flex conduit for 20A pop-up kitchen island receptacle?

What size flex conduit for 20A pop-up kitchen island receptacle?


  #1  
Old 06-13-24, 01:05 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chicago land
Posts: 746
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
What size flex conduit for 20A pop-up kitchen island receptacle?

I got a HUBBELL RCT200W 20A pop-up receptacle for my kitchen island.
https://www.hubbell.com/hubbellpremi...inum/p/4539974

It has a clamp on the back for flex conduit and a a KO

Can I use 3/8" flex for 20A?
I tried a regular 1/2" flex and it did not seem to fit into the clamp on the bottom.
 
  #2  
Old 06-13-24, 02:58 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,315
Received 2,309 Upvotes on 2,054 Posts
Are you required to use conduit? I see a strain relief in the photo but I'm not seeing a conduit clamp. For conduit I assume you'd use the knock out and install the correct fitting for the type of conduit you are using.
 
  #3  
Old 06-13-24, 04:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,928
Received 4,139 Upvotes on 3,717 Posts
The supplied strain relief is for 12-3 rubber cord.
Use the supplied 1/2" KO to connect metal flex cable.
12-2 MC (3/8") is a good choice.

 

Last edited by PJmax; 06-13-24 at 07:00 PM. Reason: correction
destruct05 voted this post useful.
  #4  
Old 06-13-24, 05:06 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chicago land
Posts: 746
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Would 12-2 be sufficient? Since I only need short distance I might get a whip and shorten.
 
  #5  
Old 06-13-24, 05:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,928
Received 4,139 Upvotes on 3,717 Posts
A ground is required. I guess you could use AC type metal clad with the bare metal wire.
MC has three wires. White, black and green.
 
  #6  
Old 06-13-24, 06:48 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 179
Upvotes: 0
Received 49 Upvotes on 40 Posts
12/3 MC has 4 wires (black, red, white, and green). Don't need red.
 
  #7  
Old 06-13-24, 07:01 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,928
Received 4,139 Upvotes on 3,717 Posts
My bad.... you are correct. You can use 12/2 MC or AC.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: