Main panel bonding...Screw or no screw?

Old 06-21-24, 05:34 PM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Main panel bonding...Screw or no screw?

Hi, I am pretty familiar with basic electric. Running new circuits inside the home etc, but this is my first time working with outdoor service equipment. I've done a lot of reading but I just want to know if i understand it right. Im really hoping to only have the inspector out here once..hah.

I got a 200 amp Eaton outdoor meter/panel combo with main disconnect, pole mounted, I am running that to our mobile home. I've read about bonding the main panel. That the main or first panel after the meter should be "bonded with a bonding screw" and then the subpanel inside the mobile home should not be bonded.

What I understand this to mean is that the neutral and ground should be connected (bonded) in the outdoor panel and usually this is done through a bonding screw that connects the neutral Busbar to the panel box itself. Is that right?
So on my outdoor panel it appears to me that the line in neutral lug is connected to a metal plate That runs down the back of the box, connects to where the bare copper grounding lug is and is also connected the only busbar in the box. So does that mean they're already bonded? Do I still need a bonding screw for any reason?

Also, I can't remember what it looks like inside the panel in the mobile home, but i think i understand that i will want the ground wires and neutral wires to be completely separate, different busbars and have the neutral busbar not connected to the panel box. Is that right?

Hope someone can clarify for me, I certainly appreciate it. Thanks for your help!

This is the panel box I am putting up outside, unfortunately it doesn't have any photos of the inside without the cover...

https://www.lowes.com/pd/Eaton-200-Amp-4-Spaces-8-Circuit-Main-Breaker-Meter-Combo-Load-Center/3006335