Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Lady needing help - Replacing Light switch -- now no power

Lady needing help - Replacing Light switch -- now no power

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-01-01, 05:46 PM
G
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question

I have been swaping out switches to my light fixtures. I replaced a double set of lights switches (one goes to the entry light, one goes to the outside lights)... now I have no power to the outside lights. I did notice the ground wires just goes between the two switches.

I have tried another switch interruptor, I tried putting the old switch back, with no luck. I tested to see if the wires were hot.. and no luck. What did I do??

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you.

 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-01-01, 11:38 PM
G
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
cookie128,
you must isolate the hot wire first. if there was a single pole switch in there, then a hot should be there also. are U sure you did not trip a breaker??
 
  #3  
Old 11-02-01, 01:52 AM
G
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I checked the breaker and nothing is tripped at the main box. Also, I just notice that several other outlets are not working either. So, it looks like I have tripped something.

I reset all of the breakers but no change. Any other suggestions?? Thank you.

Penny
 
  #4  
Old 11-02-01, 02:48 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I seem to have a one-track mind, but did you check for a tripped GFCI?
 
  #5  
Old 11-02-01, 04:00 AM
G
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I do have some GFCIs, but none that I can find that are linked to these outlets. I am stumped.

I guess I am going to have to call for help. Thanks for trying. This is the first time to this site ... and it is wonderful.

Penny
 
  #6  
Old 11-02-01, 04:20 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Did you push all the reset buttons on the GFCI receptacles, just for fun (and to humor me)? Before you call for help, make another sweep of your house looking for GFCI receptacles. Look along every inch of every wall, both internal and external. Don't forget to look behind appliances and furniture. Look behind the storage in the garage and basement. Look outside on your porches, and along the entire perimeter of your home. Even look in closets.

You might also want to flip the breakers off and back on again, even if they don't look tripped.
 
  #7  
Old 11-02-01, 06:37 AM
G
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
You mention ground wires at the switches. With a simple test-lamp socket with a 60 watt lamp test each wire to the ground wire to locate the "hot".Then connect the lamp socket between the "hot" wire and the wire to the O.D. fixture.If there's a complete circuit the test lamp will be is series with the lamp in the O.D. fixture and will glow.If not you may have a defective lamp in the OD fixture.Good Luck.
 
  #8  
Old 11-02-01, 08:47 AM
G
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
John -- I think you might be right. I was up early looking behind every piece of furniture...and in the garage. So, tonight I am going home and go through each room.

One thought, I do have a hot tub in the backyard with a GFCI that I didn't check. It might be that one.

It's hard not having a man around the house... you are almost the bext best thing.

I will let you know what I find out.

Penny
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: