Flexible Conduit Wiring

Old 01-26-02, 04:48 PM
M
MKM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Flexible Conduit Wiring

Hi,

I need to wire the compressor unit on some new HVAC equipment for my basement. Its needs 20A 220V service. I ran NM 12-3 w/ground to the disconnect box. I need to run flexible conduit from the disconnect to the compressor, and I've never worked with conduit before.

I picked up a 6' kit, complete with the connectors, o-rings, etc. Installing it seems pretty simple. Here's my question. What do I pass through the conduit? Do I just run the 12/3 w/ground NM, white sheath and all? Or, am I supposed to strip the sheathing off? Or, do I need special wire for this application?

Thanks for your help.

Old 01-26-02, 05:13 PM
J
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
You can leave the sheath on and just run the cable through the conduit.

Old 01-26-02, 05:26 PM
Jxofaltrds
Visiting Guest
If you connect your flex directly to the disconnect and the compressor, you may not use NM cable. This would be a raceway within a raceway. If you stop the flex just short (about an inch) of the box and use bushings you may use NM in the flex.

Old 01-26-02, 06:20 PM
M
MKM
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks...

I'm a tad bit confused about the raceway in the raceway bit. Let me clarify my application...

I'm running the NM from the load center, through the house, through the exterior wall, and into the back of the disconnect box ( the disc. box is mounted outside, on the siding, next to the compressor unit). The watertight flex conduit has nylon connectors. One side of the connector threads into the conduit. The other side is threaded, and inserts, with an o-ring, through the knockouts in the bottom of the disconnect box and compressor housing. Its secured with a nylon nut.
I'm confused about the bushing discussion.