Splicing in wire for ceiling fan

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-03-02, 03:09 PM
B
bbutter
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Splicing in wire for ceiling fan

I recently installed a new ceiling fan. I spliced in to the wiring that went to a switched outlet in our room. I installed a new box for the fan.

After a couple weeks I started hearing a humming sound coming from the ceiling, the fan and light were off. A couple days later the breaker kept tripping. When I went up in the attic, I found out the humming was the wiring that I spliced in. When I opened the box and moved on of the wires there was a pop and the breaker tripped. I undid all the connections and re did the splice. When I turned the breaker back on and checked it it was humming and smoking! I have since unhooked all wiring to the fan. I am not sure what I did wrong, but I damn near burnt my house down.

The one thing I am unsure of is the wire I purchsed to splice in. It is a little larger than what I was splicing in to. If any one has any advice I would appreciate it. Otherwise I will call a perfessional.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-03-02, 07:15 PM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Definitly call a pro.
For some suggestions, you will have to tell us much more about the install.
It seems that this would be best corrected with a visual inspection.
 
  #3  
Old 02-03-02, 07:37 PM
B
bbutter
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I thought the install was pretty basic, that's why I felt comfortable doing it myself. I simply cut the conduit and put in a T contector. There were three wires;, red, white, and orange. I cut all three and spliced in a group of wires (red, white, and orange) to run to the fan. I twisted all three ends of each wire together and put a cap on them. I ran the new wires to the box I installed and wired the fan according to the instructions.
 
  #4  
Old 02-03-02, 07:50 PM
J
Jxofaltrds
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
BB please listen to Ron. Call a pro. We are not saying you are stupid. You must have done something wroug.

Friday I replaced 12" of burnt wire a homeowner worked on. It almost burnt their house down.
 
  #5  
Old 02-04-02, 06:50 AM
B
bbutter
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Will do. I was not offended by the comment.

Thanks.
 
  #6  
Old 02-04-02, 06:52 AM
B
bbutter
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Any thoughts on what I might have done wrong would still be appreciated.
 
  #7  
Old 02-04-02, 09:59 AM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It seems odd that there is red white and orange wires in the conduit. If the fan was just one on/off cirucit, then there would have been at least two insulated conductors (hot and neutral). What colors are the wires at the switch?
 
  #8  
Old 02-04-02, 11:26 AM
B
bbutter
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
The wires at the switch are the same (red-hot, white-nuetral, orange-?) I followed the wires to each outlet in the room. The only one the orange was connected to was the switched outlet. I spliced into each of these and ran three wires to the fan.

The original wires in the house are a solid copper wire, so that is what I purchased. The only difference I noticed is that the wire I purchased to run to the fan is slightly thicker.

I have started a search from this site for a contractor to look at it, but it is annoying that I cannot figure it out.
 
  #9  
Old 02-04-02, 12:56 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Maine
Posts: 299
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ceiling fan mystery

Please let us know what happens on the problem. Does this fan come with a light also? Sounds like you have another "hot" lead hooked up that you don't need? You did the right thing calling on a contractor to help you with this......
 
  #10  
Old 02-04-02, 02:25 PM
B
bbutter
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
The fan has a light. The way I installed it was the fan operated by a pull cord on the fan. The light was operated by a wall switch. Before I undid the wiring, they were both operational. The light worked from the switch and the fan worked from the pull cord regardless of the light being on/off. It was several weeks before the problem developed. The breaker kept tripping one night and I heard a humming noise coming from the ceiling with the fan and light off.
 
  #11  
Old 02-09-02, 02:03 PM
B
bbutter
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks to those that offered advice. I had an electrician out today to take a look.

It appears that when a was pulling the wires through the conduit I scrapped the insulation off a section of the hot wire. Over time it began to rub against the metal conduit which was causing the problem. We replaced the wires running to the fan and I appear to be back in business.

Thanks again.
 
  #12  
Old 02-09-02, 03:12 PM
W
Wgoodrich
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
You worry me a bit when you said you installed a Tee [condulet] and made splices within that tee. You are only allowed to make a splice in a condulet that has the cubic inch capacity marked in that condulet. I suspect that you are way over any box fill limits found in 314 limiting the number of current carrying conductors in a box. YOu must have a minimum of 2.25 cubic inch per current carrying conductor. You are talking of having 6 current carrying conductors in the Tee you installed. You would need 13.5 cubic inch in that tee. I doubt if the cubic inch is more than 6 inside that tee. This can not only overheat the conductors causing a fire hazard but also invite more wires being damaged. Sounds like a real tight fit to me.

Concerned

Wg
 
  #13  
Old 02-15-02, 03:18 PM
B
bbutter
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
You are right. When I had the pro here, we changed out the Tee and put in a standard box with a cover. There is plenty of room in there know.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: