wire 2 lights, one switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-11-02, 08:25 PM
rreinhar
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
wire 2 lights, one switch

I've got a room with one light fixture in a drywalled ceiling, and I'd really like to add another fixture. The second one will be mounted on the wall.
I want them to both operate from the same switch, but I do not have access to the existing ceiling fixture.
How would I do this from the existing switch? I am thinking of adding pigtail to the load wire, effectively splitting this hot wire so that I can run it to two different fixtures. (I will run a new cable from the new fixture to the existing switch.

Will this work?
Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-11-02, 08:50 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Fayetteville, NY, USA
Posts: 1,052
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
This will work if you're sure which is the load side wire. Most novices don't use this terminology, so I'm guessing you know which wire this is. You should get your neutral from the same circuit this line-side wire comes from though. If I've confused the issue please post back.

Juice
 
  #3  
Old 02-11-02, 08:56 PM
rreinhar
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I'm afraid I'm confused now. I would have just connected all 3 neutral wires together, without connecting them to the switch.
Is this right?
 
  #4  
Old 02-11-02, 09:00 PM
llleslie
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I will work only if both the hot and neutral wires are present in that switch box. There will be two wires connected to the switch. One is the hot (should be black), the other will be the switched hot (should be some other color, not white, but often will be white). If those are the only two wires in the box, then there is no neutral in the box. The supply then likely comes via the light fixture.

If the power supply comes directly to the switch box, then the neutral will be there. It should be white and will NOT be connected to the switch. The wires to the new light can then be connected to the switched hot and the neutral wires.
 
  #5  
Old 02-12-02, 08:40 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Let me try saying it yet another way.

If your current switch has a white wire connected to it, then you cannot do what you are trying to do.

But if you current switch does not have a white wire connected to it, then you can do what you are trying to do.

Which is it?
 
  #6  
Old 02-12-02, 09:27 AM
rreinhar
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks, John.
There are two black wires connected to the switch. The two white wires come into the box, and are connected to each other within the box, but are not connected to the switch.

So can I continue? Again, I will pigtail the two black fixture wires to the load wire coming from the switch.
The two white fixture wires will be connected to the white wire from the line wire in the box.
Thanks
 
  #7  
Old 02-12-02, 09:50 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sounds good.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: