bedroom ceiling fixture

Old 02-24-02, 10:05 AM
keifer
Visiting Guest
Unhappy bedroom ceiling fixture

Can anyone please help with this? I have never ran into pigtailing before so I am stumped as to what needs to be done. I have removed an old fan and light fixture and have replaced it with a standard celing light fixture. At the celing fixture black is connected to black,white is connected to white and the grounds are connected.

The light will not work when the wall switch is turned on. I looked inside the wall switch and it does not look like the one in the other bedroom.

All of the blacks are not connected together, nor are all of the whites or grounds. The person who use to live in this house was an electrician. It would appear the he pigtailed this switch when he installed the ceiling fan and light fixture together. How do I get this celing light that I installed to work? Do I have to undo his pigtailing and if so how. I am new at this.

Thanks to anyone who can help.

Sponsored Links
Old 02-24-02, 10:20 AM
Wgoodrich
Visiting Guest
Try reading the following link that shows you having to run you power source into the light box through the switch leg and then back to the hot of the light fixture. Take a look, it should help you to understand better.

http://homewiring.tripod.com/basiiclightswitchsl.html

Tell us how you come out.

Good luck

Wg

Old 02-24-02, 11:26 AM
keifer
Visiting Guest
I understand why he did what he did. What I do not get is how to undo it. Do I need to connect the light fixture differently, instead of black to black/white to white?

Remember I am a layperson. I understand black to black/ white to white but I understand nothing else.