knob & tube w/a fuse panel

Old 02-25-02, 09:31 PM
tofubo
Visiting Guest
Question knob & tube w/a fuse panel

if this question just revisits a previous topic, my apologies.
feel free to answer or point me to previous threads.
just bought a house: built in 1917(ish), looks to have knob & tube throughout (except the kitchen which was updated at some time, newer braided romex type wire and grounded 3-pronged outlets). the panel in the basement looks new and clean but of course it's of fuse, not a circuit breaker type.
i need to deal w/three things
1.replace fuse box w/what kind of circuit panel (200amps) but how many individual circuits of what amperage, etc (this should be done by licensed electrician, correct?)
2.plan to replace (k&t w/coded wiring) as we go along and add circuits as necessary
3.plan to do this myself - could someone recommend relevant books on building and electrical codes

Old 02-26-02, 12:07 AM
Sketchy
Visiting Guest
Similar situation here. I'm not an expert but I'll take a stab at some answers. If I'm wrong, someone will correct me.

1) 200A is not much more $$ to have installed than 100A, even though 200A is overkill for most houses (do you have electrical heating & cooking?). An electrician should install the new panel and connect to the street. The rest can be done by a safe, informed DIYer. Get a book ( see below) to help you design circuits and figure required amperage.

2) Replacing circuits as you go -- that's what I'm doing. I left the old fuse subpanel where it is and I'm moving rooms over to the new breaker panel as I rewire. Minimizes downtime of the outlets & lights in a room, which is important if you can only do wiring work on the weekends like me.

3) Home Depot or equivalent has a big selection of DIY books. I have Sunset Complete Home Wiring and I like it. You'll need access to the NEC, and whatever amendments your local building department has approved. Which brings me to the bonus answer: