Outlet Question Re-Visited

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-04-02, 06:17 PM
Campbell
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Talking Outlet Question Re-Visited

OK. The story goes I have a small hot tub ( 3 man 4x6) that needs a 110v 20 amp source. Originally, I thought I was going to have to run a new line from the house, but I found a 220v double 30amp source in my backyard ( its there for an AC unit I have never gotten). The breaker for the line is set at 30 amps, but its a double switch. My question is, to get myself outfitted for the tub, will it be a simple case of wiring into one set of lines and running a line over to where I want to put my outlet, or will I have to do some work at the breaker and switch to a sinle switch instead of a double?

Thanks in advance,

Campbell
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-05-02, 06:03 PM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm not sure what a double 30amp source is, but at the least you will have to change the circuit to 120V, by lifting one of the hot conductors from the circuit breaker panel, and reterminating and reidentifying as a neutral. Then replace the double pole 30A circuit breaker with a 20A single pole (for the single hot conductor running to the new outlet). There is much more, so ask more of what doesn't make sense.
 
  #3  
Old 03-06-02, 04:36 PM
Campbell
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
So I will have to do some work at the breaker? I cant just run my line out from this outlet? ( BTW by 30amp source, I just meant up at the bearker box the breakers were 30amps)
 
  #4  
Old 03-06-02, 05:34 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Calgary Canada
Posts: 697
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If your tub requires a 20 amp breaker then you must install one you also can't use a double pole breaker for a single 20 amp line. The breaker will most likely have to be a GFCI breaker or the receptacle will have to be. Check your local authority about the grounding for a hot tub many jurisdictions have very complicated rules for those installations and they want them followed. You can use the wires you have to install the 20 amp 110v circuit. Let me know if it is a two wire Black and white (or black and red) or a three wire black red and white and if there is a ground wire in the box at this outlet. Then it should be no problem to tell you the proper way to install the circuit.
 
  #5  
Old 03-07-02, 05:34 PM
Campbell
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I have a black, a white, and a ground wire coming out of the existing box.
 
  #6  
Old 03-08-02, 06:49 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Calgary Canada
Posts: 697
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
In that case the white is the neutral and has to be connected to the neutral bar in the breaker box. The black is connected to a 20 amp single pole breaker. Now the type of breaker required some jurisdictions want a GFCI breaker in the panel and many only require a 20 amp GFCI receptacle installed. Being the existing breaker is a 30 amp the wire your dealling with should be at least a #10 so you will have no problem there as the minimum wire size for 20 amps is #12
and being #10 is larger the inspection department will have no issue with that. Check with your local authority as to which they will accept a GFCI breaker or receptacle, next thing is the proper grounding the NEC on this is one thing the locallity where you live may have other ideas as it seems each one has something extra they want. But the receptacle must be within 5 feet of the tub and in plain site of it.
I must stress one point for this type of work involving pools, spas or hot tubs make sure you have a permit and an inspection is done BEFORE powering the unit up. These can be very dangerous and you must use every procaution before using the tub. Electricity and water really are a bad combination and the slightest mistake can cost someone dear to you their life.

Hope this helps post back and let us know how you made out
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: