bobtroy
Visiting Guest
Wiring Fluorescent Light, Switch, and Receptacles

Hi I need help with wiring details for the following:
1. Souce to Fluorescent light fixture
2. Onward to Wall switch
3. Onward to Receptacle
4. Onward to another Plug

I need details, im new to this, I know enough to turn off power, black is hot, white is neutral, bare is ground...tia, [email protected]

Sponsored Links
Old 03-20-02, 10:21 AM
P
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok first run 12/2 to from your power source to the flourcent. At powers ource white to white, black to black. From flourecent to switch run 12/3. At light connect all 3 whites together. Connect the black of the power cable to the black of the 12/3 running to the switch. Connect red from 12/3 to black on light. Run 12/2 from light switch to receptacles. At light switch conenct red from 12/3 to one screw on switch and connect the black to the black of the cable to the receptacles and the other screw on the lightswitch with a pigtail. Connect the white's from both cables together. At the first outlet connect the blacks together and use a pigtail to connect to outlet. Do the same with the whites. At the other outlet just but black on hot side white on neutural side. Black goes to side with smaller slot. Dont forget to ground everything. Hope I was clear enough for you. Post back if you have more questions

Old 03-20-02, 11:16 AM
bobtroy
Visiting Guest
Question

Very clear...can I use 12-2 for the entire project. I have a whole roll of it. I know that if a white wire becomes hot in a connection, the end must be painted black from what I read. Appreciate the help. Also, what is the purpose of having a red wire, are there 4 wires...white, red, black and ground...thanks for helping a novice

Old 03-20-02, 12:22 PM
P