Wiring for computer modem

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-22-02, 04:13 PM
Boompa
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question Wiring for computer modem

I have been having trouble with my phone lines and also my dial up up to the internet. I want to run a dedicated line to the room where my computer is. Shoud I use the Cat5 cable for just this one line? Some one told me Cat5 only shields out interference if you have multiple lines through it.

If I only do this room and not the others, will that affect the connection?

If I have too many phones hooked up will that affect the connection? How many are too many phones?

Any help y'all can give me would be appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-22-02, 07:50 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, use cat5 or cat5e all the way from the network interface box to the jack. Keep the cable at least 6 to 12 inches away from electrical wires (don't run it through the same holes), and don't use excessive force when pulling it. Don't fuss too much with making all your connections in a cat5 certified way -- it's not that important for a 56K modem. Leave some slack so you can redo the connectors later if you need to.

The interference you're worried about isn't primarily from other phone connections -- it's from the higher voltage stuff in your house. None of your other concerns are anything to worry about.

You're probably replacing untwisted pair. Cat5 will be a whole lot better.
 
  #3  
Old 03-25-02, 05:39 PM
Boompa
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I ran the CAT5 cable but my connect speed is not any faster than hooking up to a regular phone jack in another room of my house. Would it be better if I put the standard phone jack connector on the wire and then pluged that into the computer? Are there any tricks to making better connections at the interface bow?
 
  #4  
Old 03-25-02, 06:37 PM
FREDDYG_001
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Boompa, If your connect speed has not changed after installing the CAT5, you may want to check your dial-up configurations, modem or contact your internet service provider and let them know about your connect speed problem. Or, you can post this problem over in the computer forum.






Fred
 
  #5  
Old 03-26-02, 06:23 PM
casazza
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Another possibility is to call the phone company and have them test your lines. I know a few people who had poor modem connections due to the quality of the signal coming into the house.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: