Number of wires in a box

Old 03-26-02, 04:17 PM
T
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Number of wires in a box

I am using 12-2 and 12-3. What is the max number of wires I can run into a .18cu ft box in any combination. Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-26-02, 04:30 PM
Nazgulflyer
Visiting Guest
2.25 cu in per conductor, grounds count as one, five conductors x 2.25 + one ground 13.5 cu in. yoke mounted device count as two wires so a recpt in the box would require a 16 cu in box or a single gang deep fiber box

Old 03-26-02, 09:07 PM
T
Unhappy Conductor....Explain

Don't mean to be dense about this but I am new to this. Can you explain what you mean by conductor?
Do you mean each black, white, ground, etc... is considered a conductor or do you mean each set of 12-2 or 12-3?
Where does the 2.25 cu in come from? Is that the length of each wire?

Sorry again for being dense. Thanks for the help.

Old 03-26-02, 09:28 PM
Nazgulflyer
Visiting Guest
article 314-16

Box fill is based upon allowing a conductor to breathe, it allows a conductor of a certain size to dissapate heat while confined in an enclosure. Article 314-16 explains this but most think it is how many wires you can cram in a box. Not true an equip grounding conductor will never carry current (non iinductive) while under normal conditions. Therefore they are always counted as ONE. They will not dissapate heat. Any conductor carrying current will dissapate heat (IsqR) which will deteroiate the quality of the insulation. Adding devices in the box (yoke, hickeys or pendants) will also detract form the free air space to dissapate the heat generated from current (I). In simple terms, a crowed bus with no AC will get unconfortable.

Old 03-26-02, 11:43 PM
Debbie Ann
Visiting Guest
Hello trytodoitright